Today's hours Noon — Midnight

Doors are locked 15 minutes before closing.

Anthropology

The following databases contained journals on ecology as well as Anthropology.

Complete, searchable, full text articles from over 2,100 core scholarly journals. 1878 to the most recent 1-5 years (varies by title).

Wiley publishes peer-reviewed journals that cover the full spectrum of life, health and physical sciences, social science and the humanities. Half of which are published in partnership with prestigious international scholarly and professional societies.

Articles from journals held by The Anthropology Library at the British Museum. Covers all branches of anthropology including cultural anthropology, archaeology, biological anthropology, and linguistics. 1950's to present.

Google Scholar

Journal articles, books, and other resources across many subjects. Provides a "cited by" feature to indicate other papers containing a source paper as a reference.

 

Citing

American Anthropological Association Styleguide. The Association's citation style is based upon the Chicago Manual of Style.

Zotero

Zotero is a free research manager which helps you collect, organize, and manage your sources. This application works with Google Chrome, FireFox, & Safari web browsers, and integrates with word processing programs such as MS Word & Google Docs. Zotero facilitates quick in-text citing, and one-click generation of references according to a multitude of styles including APA, MLA, Chicago, Turabian, & journal-specific.

Creating an account on Zotero's website allows you to sync your collections to a central point (300MB free) from multiple computers (such as work & home). It also allows you to create groups. 

Minimum operating system requirements for Zotero version 5.x:

macOS 10.9 or later
Windows XP SP2 or later
Linux

The following steps will walk you through how to install Zotero on your browser.

Save documents & close all programs other than web browser before proceeding

Rationale: In order to finish the installation. Zotero may need to reboot your computer.

Rationale: The Zotero Connector which allows downloading information from the browser into
Zotero only works with these versions of the browser:

Chrome: Version 55 or higher
FireFox: Version 52 or higher

Firefox
Once you have opened Firefox, you need to check that it is version 52 or higher. To do this, go to 
the menu heading Help, and select "About Firefox" (see screen shot below). If it says you have a 
lower-numbered version, Mozilla will automatically download & install the latest version of FireFox.

 

Image showing the "about firefox "button

Google Chrome
Once you have opened Chrome, you need to check that it is version 55 or higher. To do this,
go to the upper-right corner and click on three dots (see screen shot below), highlight Help, and select 
"About Google Chrome". If it says you have a lower-numbered version, Google will automatically 
download & install the latest version of Chrome.

 

Image showing the "about google chrome" menu option in google chrome.

Once you have the latest version of your browser, open it, download Zotero and install the program. The 
download interface automatically recognizes your specific browser and operating system and provides 
the appropriate choice.

If you receive a message preventing this site (www.zotero.org) from installing software on your computer, 
click on the Allow button.

Proceed through the Setup Wizard. When asked about Setup Type (screen below), we recommend choosing Standard. You will be able to customize it later.

Image showing the setup type option on the zotero installer dialogue.

 

Once installed you will be prompted to Reboot your computer (see below). 

Picture showing the reboot option screen of the zotero installer


After you click on Finish, your computer will reboot.

Open your browser & go to the Download page to install the Connector. The download interface 
automatically recognizes your specific browser and operating system, and provides the 
appropriate choice.

 

image of a page linking the zotero connection for google chrome download.

This plugin allows you to create a bibliography, in-text citations, and footnotes or endnotes from within word processing software. 

Note that Zotero version 5.x automatically installs the plugin for Microsoft Word.

Open Microsoft Word, and click on the Zotero tab to display tools:

image showing Zotero's Microsoft word toolbar plugin.


Using Google Docs? No plugin required. Click here for Zotero support documentation.

Using LibreOffice? Click here for plugin.

You do not need to register your Zotero account but you may want to do this at a later date as there are a
number of advantages including the ability to sync your citations to the Zotero site, allowing you to 
access them from any computer at any time.

Zotero is a free Web application developed for Firefox, Chrome, & Safari web browsers that allows you to quickly cite in-text and format references in a multitude of styles (APA, MLA, Chicago, Turabian, etc.). Zotero allows you to collect, manage, cite, and share references you've collected for your research.

This guide will walk you through modifying the Preferences tabs screens to configure Zotero.

Important: This guide is intended for users who have just installed Zotero for the first time.

If you already have entries loaded into a past Zotero installation, we recommend you backup your Zotero folder before proceeding, and then after completing customizing, copy your old Zotero folder to a new location on either the Desktop or in Documents.

Please connect to the Internet while configuring Zotero.

If you have not yet downloaded and installed Zotero, please see the Library's Installing Zotero guide for directions with screen shots.

Please Skip this step if your Zotero already contains entries!

 

You need to decide where to save your Zotero files & retrieved articles. We highly recommend saving to either Documents, or to the Desktop (makes it much easier when migrating to a new computer or quickly backing up), so the first step is to create a New folder in that place & name it: Zotero To access the Preferences settings, open Zotero, then click on the Edit menu choice, and select Preferences:

Zotero pereferences page

Advanced tab -- Files and Folders sub-tab

Under Data Directory Location, click on the Choose button and select the newly-created Zotero folder which appears on your Desktop.

Zotero directory selection image

 

Zotero will add the information to the screen similar to above, but with your username.

You will be prompted that it must re-start Zotero.

Modify OpenURL Custom Resolver:

Replace: http://worldcatlibraries.org/registry/gateway

With: http://zc9gn3am3j.search.serialssolutions.com

[either copy & paste, or right-click & Copy link address & paste]

Advanced tab image

On the General tab you may adjust the User Interface Layout, Font size, & Note font size (recommendations below).

A new feature in Version 5.0 is selecting the Layout (red outline below):

Standard Layout displays a selected entry on the right side of the list of items.

Stacked Layout displays a selected entry underneath the list of items.

All boxes are checked by default.

New to version 5.0.36 are changes to indexing PDFs, which is now automatic--no separate installer needed.

Zotero layout options

 

Only use if you plan on creating an account & using storage on Zotero server for yourself or group work.

Sync is also beneficial if you are using multiple computers (e.g., work & home) to manage sources.

Enter the username & password used when you created account on Zotero web site.

Note that Sync does not replace making regular backups of your local Zotero files, and cannot be used to restore your Zotero files if your hard drive is damaged or requires re-imaging

Image of sync option

PDF Indexing is a feature which allows you to drag-and-drop previously downloaded pdf files into Zotero, and then have it search for metadata on that file & create an entry for you.

As Zotero facilitates creating your own "library" of sources, enabling PDF Indexing will include those sources when searching within Zotero.

Beginning with Zotero version 5.0.36, this screen shows indexing statistics.

This is another area where you should set the Default style you will use. Note that you may always change the default. Under the Default Output Format, click on the drop arrow to change style.

Image of zotero default format preferences

 

There are over 9,000 citation styles available for Zotero including many styles based on individual journal titles. Zotero only comes configured with the more popular styles but you may add any of the other styles while inside of Zotero.

After clicking on the Cite tab, click on the Styles sub-tab.

Next, locate the style from the list & click on it to select.If you do not see your specific style, click on the Get additional styles... link (see screen shot below) which will open the Zotero Style Repository, and search for your style. Left-click on the style name to select, which will then load that template into Zotero.

Zotero get additional styles button

Citation Options - Real important especially for APA, MLA, & Chicago styles

Check the box next to the label: Include URLs of paper articles in references.

 Zotero include URLs in citation

It is highly recommended using the classic insert citation interface. So on the Word Processors sub-tab, 
check the box next to the label: Use classic Add Citation dialog

image of word processors options in Zotero

Important: You MUST click the ok button to save all changes.

You are now ready to use Zotero. The Videos below will show you how to use the key features of this program.

Using Zotero

The following videos will take you through the process of importing citations into your Zotero databases, manually creating an entry in Zotero, organizing your citations by collection, and using the MS Word feature to format citations in your research paper. The first two videos have some overlap. However, it is helpful to see how to import citations more than once. Also, the second video goes into more details.

As with most things, Zotero is not perfect. Always check your citations for accuracy. Zotero will not correct data or capitalized titles for instance. Be sure to check the data for each citation. You can always edit the citations in Zotero.

  1. Quick Bibliographic Demo (3:50) - A quick overview of importing citations from Websites or databases
     
  2. Getting Stuff Into Zotero (4:03) - A more detailed presentation on importing citations into Zotero.
     
  3. Manually Adding Items (3:05) - Shows you how to manually create a database entry
     
  4. Organizing Your Sources (3:07) - Shows you how to create folders to manage your citations.
     
  5. Zotero and Microsoft Word (2:55) - Shows you how to use the Zotero plugin with MS Word to create footnotes, endnotes, in-text citations, and bibliographies. There is also a helpful User Guide for the word processsor plugin.

Additional videos can be viewed at the Zotero Screencast Tutorials page.

Introduction to Socio-Cultural Anthropology

Reference Resources

Dictionary of Anthropology (Oxford: 1997), online and in reference. GN307 .D485 1997

Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology (Holt: 1996). GN307 .E52 1996

Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology, volumes 1 and 2. REF RA 418 .E354 2004. Volume 1 covers topics; volume 2 covers cultures. Each entry contains references.

Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology (Routledge: 1998) (online).

Encyclopedia of World Cultures (G.K. Hall: 1991). GN307 .E53 1997

Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Beliefs, Customs, Tales, Music and Art (ABC-CLIO: 1997). GR35 .F63 1997

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences (Macmillian: 1968-1979). H40 .A2 I5 (online)

International Encyclopedia of Linguistics (Oxford: 2003). P29 .I58 2003

Dictionary of Concepts in Cultural Anthropology (Greenwood: 1991). GN 307 .W56 1991

Cultural anthropology: a guide to reference and information sources. (Libraries Unlimited, 2007). GN2 .J33 2007.

Oxford Reference Online. Contains over 120 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. You can browse individual works or search across the entire collection. Has a unique cross-reference tool that allows you to highlight and click on a word to find it in other reference sources in the collection. Also, for each entry there is an extensive web of cross-references and links.

Internet Resources

Films on Demand. Provides over 33,000 videos that can be streamed anytime, anywhere, 24/7! Films are grouped by subject or producer (BBC, PBS, etc.). Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and more.

Directory of Open Access Journals.  Free, full-text online scholarly journals. Search across 17 listed disciplines or narrow your search to a specific field (click the "expand subject tree")

American Memory Project from the Library of Congress. "American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience." Also at the Library of Congress American Folklife Center is a collection of ethnographic resources.

Anthropology Resources on the Internet. Guiding you to scholarly Anthropological resources available on the Internet since 1995. On Hiatus! But the links can be found here.

The American Anthropological Association lists resources available on the Internet.

Archeology and Anthropology links from the Voice of the Shuttle, a rather interesting collection of links in many disciplines from UC Santa Barbara. Another collection of Anthropology links, albeit smaller, is from USA People Search.

NativeWeb. Resources for indigenous cultures from around the world.

Anthrosource. Another resource from the America Anthropological Association. Although NMU only subscribes (or has access) to some of the journals listed, visitors to this website can search all the issues without a subscription. The list of journals we can see: American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology & Education Quarterly, Cultural Anthropology, Ethos, Medical Anthropology Quarterly, and the Journal of Latin American and Caribbean Anthropology. If you find an article you'd like in a journal we don't have, request it from another library. If you need assistance, chat us up.

Evaluating Internet Resources. You've been surfing for years now, but do you ask yourself these questions when you land on a website? Do you critically examine what you find?

Ecological Anthropology: People, Culture and Nature

Reference Resources

Indigenous Peoples and Environmental Issues: An Encyclopedia. REF GF50 .J65 2003.

Terms of Environment: Glossary, Abbreviations and Acronyms. Online dictionary from the EPA.

Conservation and Environmentalism: An Encyclopedia. REF GF10 .C68 1995 (there are similar publications adjacent to this one, such as Encyclopedia of Environmental issues. REF GE10 .E52 2000).

Blackwell's Concise Encyclopedia of Ecology.

A Dictionary of Ecology. An older copy resides in the Reference Collection: REF QH 540.4 .C66 1998.

Encyclopedia of consumption and waste: the social science of garbage. Edited by Carl A. Zimring. The author has a blog.

Environmental anthropology today. Kopnina, Helen, and Shoreman-Ouimet, Eleanor.

Handbook of Global Environmental Politics.

Internet Resources

Anthropology and Environment Society links from the American Anthropological Society.

Environmental Response Television, which supports the Environmental Protection Agency's Environmental Response Team, has free broadcast-quality streaming videos available online. Not all are available.

Religion and Society

Reference Resources

Encyclopedia of Religion. The second edition (2005) of a resource that is considered a standard reference in the field. Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture. The original 2,750 entries have been retained, many heavily updated, and approximately 600 entirely new articles have been added by an international team of scholars and contributors.

An Encyclopedia of Religion. 1946. BL31 .F4

Encyclopedia of Sciences and Religions. (2013)

The Oxford handbook of new religious movements. BP603 .H36 2004

Cults and New Religions: A Brief History. (2015)

Religious cults in America. BL 2525 .R469 1994

The encyclopedia of Caribbean religions. (2013)

The HarperCollins dictionary of religion. BL31 H37 1995

Contemporary American Religion. (2000).

Encyclopedia of American Religious History. (2009).

Hutchinson Dictionary of World Religions. (2005).

The concise Oxford dictionary of world religions. Abridged from the acclaimed Oxford Dictionary of World Religions, this Concise version (published in 2000) is written by an expert team of 80 international and multi-faith contributors. It contains entries on all the major and many minor religions, including Christianity, Judaism, Buddhism, Hinduism, Islam, Jainism, Shinto, Sikhism, and Taoism. Over 500 entries cover movements, sects, and cults, from Cargo Cults and the New Age movement to Rastafarians and Soka Gakkai. Over 1,000 entries explore the sacred writings of religions worldwide, and short biographies of founders, leaders, gurus, philosophers, mystics, and heretics are given. There are details of sacred sites, customs, religious practices, dogmas, beliefs, traditions, festivals and fasts, and artifacts such as altars, rosaries, icons, and torah ornaments. There are also entries on worldwide religious teachings on abortion, animals, birth control, war, homosexuality, and suicide.

The archeology of world religions; the background of primitivism, Zoroastrianism, Hinduism, Jainism, Buddhism, Confucianism, Taoism, Shinto, Islam, and Sikhism. 1952. BL80 .F5

Dictionary of non-Christian religions. 1971. BL31 .P36

New Historical Atlas of Religion in America. 2001. G1201 E4 N4 2001.

Encyclopaedia of religion and ethics. 1951. BL31 .E5

New Catholic Encyclopedia (2003).

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy. (online since 2006).

Annual Report on International Religious Freedom. U.S. Depatement of State.

From Congress, the State of Religious Liberty in the United States (online and print for the years 2011 and 2014).

Mythologies. compiled by Yves Bonnefoy; a restructured translation of Dictionnaire des mythologies et des religions des sociétés traditionnelles et du monde antique prepared under the direction of Wendy Doniger. 1991. Reference BL 311 .D513 1991.

The ABC-CLIO World History Companion to Utopian Movements. 1998.HX626 .H65 1998 "The ABC-CLIO World History Companion to Utopian Movements is a unique reference work devoted to actual and theoretical utopian movements. Detailed entries examine major utopian movements, significant utopian thinkers and literary works, and various sects, settlements, and communes. The more than 100 A to Z entries include: Diggers; Ecotopia; Fairhope Colony; Feminist Utopias; Futurism; Huguenot Utopias; Kibbutzim; Lunar Utopias; Millennialism; Native American Utopias; New Age Cults; Oneida Community; Ranters; Transcendentalism; and Welfare State"

Norton Anthology of World Religions. BL74.N67 2014. Looks at the 6 major international religions in 2 volumes. Volume 1: Hinduism, Buddhism, Daoism; Volume 2: Judaism, Christianity, Islam.

Internet Resources

List of electronic journals on religion that NMU has access to.

Society for the Anthropology of Religion. Formed in 1997 to facilitate teaching and research in the anthropological study of religion. This includes anthropological approaches to religion from all the subdisciplines: cultural anthropology, archaeology, physical anthropology, etc. Their website has a list of publications. Additionally, Archaeolink contains a list of resources.

Society for the Scientific Study of Religion. Founded in 1949, SSSR fosters interdisciplinary dialogue and collaboration among scholars from sociology, religious studies, psychology, political science, economics, international studies, gender studies, and many other fields. Check out their "web resources and archives" link for additional resources.

Anthropology of Religion links from the University of Alabama. Includes Religions, Myth and Mythology, Magic & Witchcraft, Shamanism, Cult of the Virgin Mary, Pilgrimage, Voodoo, Satanism, and Halloween.

Voice of the Shuttle: Religious Studies. Large list of links from the UC Santa Barbara.

Cult Education Institute (formerly known as the Ross Institute of New Jersey). Includes news stories, research papers, reports, court documents, book excerpts, personal testimonies and hundreds of links to additional relevant resources. Archives can be searched here. Also note the index of group types on the right hand side of the page. They also run a cult news blog.

Evaluating Internet Sources. Found a website? Give it a critical look with this list of criteria.

Statistics and Country Briefs

Ethnocultural Characteristics from the United Nations Statistical Yearbook: Table 6, Population by religion, sex, urban/rural residence and percentage: each census, 1985-2004. And a more up-to-date set of numbers (you may have to select a recent year) from the UN.

The CIA World Factbook contains percentages of religious adherents under the "People & Society" section for each country.

American Religious Identification Survey
Conducted in 1990, 2001 and 2008. A nice companion to the Association of Religion Data Archives resource below.

Religious Affiliation
From the Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA). View the social, economic, demographic, and religious landscape of neighborhoods, cities, states, regions, and the entire United States. Contains the 2010 U.S. Religion Census: Religious Congregations & Membership Study by the Association of Statisticians of American Religious Bodies. Doesn't work well in Firefox.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Published now Proquest (instead of the Census Bureau), this yearly compilation has several tables on religious identification, groups, and adherents. Older editions are available here. Also available in print: HA 202 [YEAR].

Adherents.com
From their website: Adherents.com a growing collection of over 43,870 adherent statistics and religious geography citations: references to published membership/adherent statistics and congregation statistics for over 4,200 religions, churches, denominations, religious bodies, faith groups, tribes, cultures, movements, ultimate concerns, etc. The religions of the world are enumerated here.

The Pew Research Center’s Religion & Public Life Project (select Religion if this link does not take you right to it) contains statistical information and studies of religion in the US and around the world. Also studies issues that have a religious component.

Religious information as well as other cultural information can be found in nearly any country study. This link takes you to NMU's list of information about foreign countries.

Native Peoples of North America

First of all, the Bureau of Indian Affairs has a tribal leaders directory with all federally recognized tribes and their websites. There are nearly 600 federally recognized tribes (link takes you to the National Indian Law Library, which also has links to state-recognized tribes and non-federally recognized tribes [although the latter is an old list]).

In addition to the name, there are a few different subject headings to use: "Native Peoples", "Indigenous Peoples", "Indians", "Indians of North America", "Indians of Mexico", or "Indians of Central America" when you are searching the library catalog. Adding individual tribes or cultural attributes with these can narrow down your search. This holds true for the WorldCat and (sort of) MeLCat catalogs as well.

Reference Resources

Oxford Reference Online. Full-text reference collection covering subjects from art & architecture to science.

Handbook of Indians North of Mexico. Hodge, Frederick Webb.
E51 .U6 no.30, volumes 1&2

Encyclopedia of North American Indians. Hoxie, Frederick E., editor.
E 76.2 .E53 1996. (also available as an ebook).

Handbook of North American Indians. Sturtevant, William C., general editor. This series has been years in the making and is not yet complete. Call number E76.2 .H36, volumes 2-15, 17.

  • v. 2. Indians in contemporary society / Garrick A. Bailey, volume ed.
  • v. 3. Environment, origins, and population
  • v. 4. History of Indian-White relations / Wilcomb E. Washburn, volume ed.
  • v. 5. Arctic
  • v. 6. Subarctic
  • v. 7. Northwest coast
  • v. 8. California
  • v. 9. Southwest
  • v. 10. Southwest
  • v. 11. Great Basin
  • v. 12. Plateau
  • v. 13. Plains
  • v. 14. Southeast / Raymond D. Fogelson, volume editor
  • v. 15. Northeast
  • v. 17. Languages

A Native American Encyclopedia: History, Culture, and Peoples. Pritzker, Barry M.
E76.2 .P75 2000.

Historical and Statistical Information Respecting the History, Condition, and Prospects of the Indian Tribes of the United States. Schoolcraft, Henry Rowe.
E77 .S383, volumes 1-6

Handbook of Indians of Canada. Hodge, Frederick Webb.
E78.C2 H6 1971, in reference and 3rd floor.

Native American Ethnobotany. Moerman, Daniel E.
E 98 .B7 M66 1998

Handbook of Middle American Indians. Wauchope, Robert, general editor.
F1434 .H3, volumes 1-16.

The Indians of Central and South America: an Ethnohistorical Dictionary. Olson, James S.
F 1434 .O45 1991.

Handbook of Latin American Studies. University of Texas (Austin) Press.
F 1406 .H23 (volumes 1-46). Also available online.

Atlas of the North American Indian, 3rd edition. Waldman, Carl.
G1106 .E1 W3 2009.

Bureau of American Ethnology Annual Reports. Smithsonian Institute, Bureau of American Ethnology (BAE). Online from the National Library of France. Smithsoinan Institute's list of publications of the BAE can be found at this link, and some digitized copies at this link.

Found a resource that should be here? Let me know.

Internet Resources

Google news is another source.

Contemporary Native American media links (no single source, unfortunately):
News media, TV & Radio links from Nativeweb (some links are dead). 
Tribal Court Clearinghouse.
Native media listing from Native Culture Links (film & video, journals & newspapers & Internet news sources, radio & TV). 
Native broadcasters and media organizations from Native Media Resource Center.
Wisconsin Judicare links.

Canada: List of First Nations periodicals (and other media) from wikipedia, Nationtalk (daily Aboriginal specific news), Firstnationsseeker--organized by language group or region in North America with links to official websites. Bow Valley College has a library resource page similar to this one as does Thompson Rivers University and Vancouver Community College.

Government Links

Bureau of Indian Affairs. Established in 1824, this is the oldest bureau in the Department of the Interior. Information can be found on many topics including: economic development, gaming, education, self-determination, self-government.

United States Senate Committee on Indian Affairs. Re-established in 1977. The Committee has jurisdiction to study the unique problems of American Indian, Native Hawaiian, and Alaska Native peoples and to propose legislation to alleviate these difficulties. List of publications from this committee back to 1985.

The House, within the the Committee on Natural Resources, has the subcommittee Indian, Insular and Alaska Native Affairs.

The National Conference of State Legislatures has a portal on State-Tribal relations, which includes a list of state committees and commissions on Indian affairs and a database on current legislation that can affect tribal communities.

USA.gov is the official U.S. Government search engine, which includes tribal websites. This link takes you to the tribes portal.

Canada: Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada, and the Assembly of First Nations.

US Census data on American Indian & Alaskan Native Tribes, and Aboriginal Peoples from StatsCanada.

Internet Resources and Directories of Native American Cultures.

National Indian Education Association
Under their Research tab are links to statistics, reports, and the Native American Education Associations in each state. Also on the website is a list of tribal colleges and universities as well as links to NAS programs in the US.

Arctic Circle 
Collection of links from the University of Connecticut on peoples of the Arctic--not limited to North America.

Native American Links 
Resources compiled in conjunction with the American Indian Library Association (their list of resources is good, too).

Our Mother Tongues
A resource highlighting the revitalization of Native American spoken languages.

List of Federal Websites For and About American Indians from the Oklahoma State Library, and a list of resources for Michigan Tribal Libraries.

Latin American Network and Information Center 
Extensive list of resources including society and culture, geography and environment, social sciences, and humaities.

Regarding Internet resources, you've been surfing for years now, but do you ask yourself these questions when you land on a website? Do you have the guts to use a resource you've found online without checking it out first? And regarding this class, Techniques for Evaluating American Indian Web Sites--from 2000 but still relevant.

Index of Native American Resources on the Internet.

Google Books Advanced Search. A hit-and-miss resource. You might get lucky and find that a book or journal has been digitized.

Indians of the Western Great Lakes

Internet Resources

Anthropology Search: This link will search multiple resources for articles including JSTOR, Social Sciences abstract, Google scholar, Humanities Abstract and Anthropological Index Online. JSTOR LINK HERE

Government Resources for Tribal Libraries. Not just for librarians. This list contains many links to resources specific to Michigan in addition to nationwide resources.

Historical and Cultural Information Sources

Bureau of American Ethnology Annual Reports. Smithsonian Institute, Bureau of American Ethnology (BAE). Online from the National Library of France. List of publications of the BAE can be found here.

Anthropology Resources on the Internet. Guiding you to scholarly Anthropological resources available on the Internet since 1995. On Hiatus! But the links can be found here.

Anthrosource. Another resource from the America Anthropological Association. Although NMU only subscribes to 6 of the 31 journals listed, users can search all the issues without a subscription.

Clark Historical Library This web site includes an extensive Native American Bibliography, full text of treaties that effect Michigan, including Contemporary and historical issues as well as six case studies.

Bentley Historical Library This resource guide allows the user to browse by tribe and location to access abstract information. Some information is available full text on-line.

Native American Links
Resources compiled in conjunction with the Native American Library Association.

Portals to the Past: A Bibliographical and Resource Guide to Michigan’s Upper Peninsula.
By NMU's own Dr. Magnaghi. Native American and Metis resources begin on page 119.

 

Medical Anthropology: Pluralistic Systems of Health Care

Reference Resources

Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology, volumes 1 and 2. RA 418 .E354 2004. Volume 1 covers topics; volume 2 covers cultures (not a direct link: table of contents only). Each entry contains references.

Medical anthropology and the world system: critical perspectives. ebook.

Traditional Medicine: A Global Perspective. GN477 .T73 2010.

On Knowing and Not Knowing in the Anthropology of Medicine. ebook.

The Anthropology of Health and Healing. GN296 .W645 2010

An Anthropology of Biomedicine. GN296 .L63 2010

Health, Risk, and Adversity. ebook.

Native American Ethnobotany. REF E 98 .B7 M66 1998.

Medicine as Culture. ebook. And an older print edition RA418 .L74 2003.

Encyclopedia of Plague and Pestilence: From Ancient Times to the Present. RA649 .E53 1998

Bibliography of the History of Medicine. NMU Documents HE 20.3615:

International Bibliography of Social and Cultural Anthropology. GN 316 .I593.

Some subject headings worth trying: "Medical Anthropology", "Traditional Medicine", "Social Medicine".

SELECTED MEDICAL ANTHROPOLOGICAL JOURNALS (MOST AVAILABLE THROUGH NMU) AND DATABASE RESOURCES:

  • Medical Anthropology Quarterly (earlier name Medical Anthropology Newsletter): Full text online; indexed in the following databases in adition to JSTOR: Anthropological Index Online, SocialSciAbs, MEDLINE, Social Services Abstracts, and Sociological Abstracts.

  • Medical Anthropology: Unavailable at NMU, but indexed in the following databases: Anthropological Index Online, google scholar, MEDLINE, and PsycINFO. You can sneak a peek here from the publisher.

  • Social Science & Medicine RA 418 .S644: Both print and electronic access, 1984-1991 in paper; 1995-present online. Indexed in the following databases: CINAHL, SocialSciAbs, MEDLINE, PsychINFO, Social Services Abstracts, and Sociological Abstracts.

  • Human Organization GN 1 .H83: Both print and electronic access, 1941-present in print and electronic. Indexed in the following databases: ABI Inform, Anthropological Index Online, SocialSciAbs, MEDLINE, PsychINFO, Social Services Abstracts, and Sociological Abstracts.

  • Culture, Medicine and Psychiatry: Online from 1997-present. Indexed in the following databases: MEDLINE, PsychINFO, Social Services Abstracts, SocialSciAbs, and Springer.

  • Journal of Ethnobiology and Ethnomedicine: Online from 2005-present. Indexed in the following databases: MEDLINE, and MLA.

  • Anthropology & Medicine. Indexed in Anthropological Index Online, CINAHL, google scholar, MEDLINE, PubMed, PsychINFO, Social Services Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, Academic Search Complete. Take a look at the publisher's website here.

  • Asclepio. Indexed in Anthropological Index Online, and google scholar. Sneak a peek here (English version website)

  • Cambridge Studies in Medical Anthropology. Not a journal, but an irregular series. Some is indexed in google scholar. You can browse many titles. Publisher link.

  • Cultura de Los Cuidados. Online from 2006-present. Indexed in CINAHL.

  • Culture, Illness & Healing. Not a journal, but an irregular series now discontinued. Publisher link.

  • Cultures et Medecines. French. Not a journal, but an irregular series. Publisher link.

  • Anthropologie & Santé. Also French, but a regular journal. Some is indexed in google scholar. Full text.

  • Curare: Journal of Ethnomedicine and Transcultural Psychiatry. German. Indexed in Anthropological Index Online, Social Services Abstracts, Medline, and Sociological Abstracts. Publisher link.

  • Dental Anthropology. Indexed in Anthropological Index Online and google scholar; online back to 1986. Publisher link.

  • Ethnicity & Disease. Indexed in google scholar and Medline. Publisher link.

  • Medecines du Monde. French. Not a journal, but an irregular series. Publisher's website.

  • Medicina Antropologica. Argentinian. Publisher's website.

  • Papeles de Trabajo. Centro de Estudios Interdisciplinarios en Etnoling��stica y Antropolog�a Socio-Cultural. Argentinian. Full text.

  • Sexologi. Norwegian. Indexed in google scholar. Publisher's website.

  • Transcultural Psychiatry. Online from 1964-present. Indexed in CINAHL, Sage, Medline, PsychINFO, Social Services Abstracts, and Sociological Abstracts .

Internet Resources

What about that website you googled on into or were referred to? Don't believe everything you read online. Give these sources a critical look. Here is a checklist of Science vs. Pseudoscience.

Society for Medical Anthropology, a subgroup of the American Anthropological Association. Contains links to resources, news, journal information, contacts in the field, etc.

Native American Ethnobotany. Database from Daniel Moerman at U-M Dearborn (author of Native American Ethnobotany, listed above under Print Resources). Briefly cites the original publications where a reference to the plant and its use was mentioned, and then links to the USDA description of the plant.

Bibliography of Medicinal Plants from the Library of Congress, and one of Ethnobotany of the Americas.

U.S. National Library of Medicine Digital Collections.

Links from the Canadian Association for Physical Anthropology.

Medical Anthropology Glossary from Palomar College. Medical Anthropology is just one of the resources off their Cultural Anthropology Resources page.

Native Voices: Native Peoples' Concepts of Health & Illness. Resource from the National Library of Medicine.

Demographic & Health Surveys from Measure DHS. Profiles over 90 countries with information about "health, nutrition, HIV, and population". Includes customizable data sets. Additional current information on health care and medicine in other countries can be found in Country Studies from the Library of Congress. The State Department's Post Reports were removed from public viewing in 2005, but might still have relevant information. An additional government resource is the Centers for Disease Control.

History of Medicine Homepage from the National Library of Medicine.

Ask Us
Feedback