Search the Lydia M. Olson Library's collection of books, e-books, articles, audio, and video! Click Available Online to see only books and articles available entirely online; click Peer- Reviewed Journals to see articles that have been vetted by experts.
Most of the books on CAPS we hold are on our upper floor.
P90-P96 has books on communication and mass media.
PN4699-5650 has books on journalism.
PN1600-3307 and PN2000-3307 have books on theater.
PN1993-1999 has books on film and film studies.
GV1580-GV1799.4 has books on dance.
HE8690-HE8701 and PN1990-1992.92 have books on radio and television broadcasting.
HD59 and HM1221 have books on public relations.
You can find a map of the upper floor of the library here: https://lib.nmu.edu/about/library-map
The library has the Encyclopedia of Communication and Information (P87.5.E53 2002) and the World Press Encyclopedia (PN4728.Q53 2003) in the upstairs library collection. Both of these can be useful starting places.
The National Telecommunications and Information Administration is a useful source of information about the current world of communications and consumer interaction with communications, as is the Pew Research Center (link takes you to their interactive page on local news coverage, but the site has much of interest). The Committee to Protect Journalists has resources on press freedom around the world. Students focusing on advertising or public relations might also find the BLS's Consumer Expenditure Surveys helpful.
If your focus is more historical, Duke University's collections of print advertisements from the 1850s to the 1920s, print advertisements from 1911 to 1955, and television commercials from the 1950s to the 1980s are invaluable and easy to search. Check out the Internet Archive's collected news and public affairs programming and the American Archive of Public Broadcasting for historic news broadcasts. The library has many major newspapers available on microfilm or through ProQuest Central or JSTOR (see CAPS Databases page). If you're interested in local NMU or U. P. journalism, consider visiting the Central Upper Peninsula and Northern Michigan University Archives to read local and student publications.
In our collection on the second floor, the library has the Cambridge Guide to American Theatre (PN2220.C35 2007) and Stage It with Music: An Encyclopedic Guide to the American Musical Theatre (ML102.M88 H6 1993), as well as the Play Index (PN1625.P53). Online we have the Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance and Inter-play, an online index of published plays.
The Internet Broadway Database is a good resource on Broadway productions. NMU subscribes to the Naxos Music Library, which contains multiple Broadway musical recordings (listed under Classical Music), and the Theatrical Lighting Database, supported by the Lighting Archive and the New York Library for the Performing Arts has actual plots, focus charts, cue sheets, and other resources. If you're doing historical research on the theatre, this list of digital collections in the performing arts (American theatre) and the Victoria & Albert Museum's digitized theatrical collections (British theatre) can provide primary sources.
The International Encyclopedia of Dance is a good introduction to all types of dance, and Dance as a Theatre Art (on the top floor at GV1781.C63) is a good collection of primary sources on dance history.
The University of Texas has digitized its collection of Fred Fehl's dance photographs, taken at the Alvin Ailey Dance Theatre, the Martha Graham Dance Company, and the American Ballet Theatre, among others. The Jacob's Pillow Dance Festival has an online video archive and Numeridanse is an interesting collection of dance videos in a variety of genres.
If you're interested in the teaching of dance, the Dance Education Literature and Research Index might be helpful (not all articles will be held by NMU, but you can always request PDFs).
Different disciplines in CAPS prefer different citation styles; some instructors will want you to use the MLA, some will prefer Chicago. The Zotero citation manager will allow you to store all your sources and then download bibliographies in either format. Also, many professional journalists use the Associated Press stylebook.
Zotero
(Revised 8/15/2024)
Zotero Version 7.x
Zotero is a free Web application developed for Google Chrome, FireFox, Microsoft Edge, Opera, & Safari web browsers, and integrates with word processing programs such as MS Word, LibreOffice, & Google Docs. It allows you to quickly cite in-text and format references in thousands of styles (APA, MLA, Chicago, Turabian, etc.). Zotero allows you to collect, manage, cite, and share references you've collected for your research.
The Zotero Connector works with the following web browser versions:
Google Chrome 88 or later
Edge 88 or later
FireFox 102 or later
Safari on MacOS Big Sur or later [details]
Minimum operating system requirements for Zotero version 7.x:
macOS 10.11 or later
Windows 7 or later
Linux
More detailed system requirements available here: https://www.zotero.org/support/system_requirements
Creating an account on Zotero's website allows you to sync your collections to a central point (300MB free) from multiple computers (such as work & home). It also allows you to create groups.
The following steps will walk you through how to install Zotero on your browser.
Save documents & close all programs other than web browser before proceeding. This includes your word processor software.
Rationale: In order to finish the installation, Zotero may need to reboot your computer.
Rationale: The Zotero Connector which allows downloading information from the browser into
Zotero only works with these versions of the browser:
Chrome: Version 88 or higher
Edge: Version 88 or higher
FireFox: Version 102 or higher
Safari on MacOS Big Sur or later [details]
Use the Help menu then click on "About"
Once you have the latest version of your browser, open it, download Zotero and install the program. The
download interface automatically recognizes your specific browser and operating system and provides
the appropriate choice.
Open your browser & go to the Download page to install the Zotero Connector. The download interface
automatically recognizes your specific browser and operating system, and provides the
appropriate choice.
It is Critical you install the Zotero Connector for the specific browser. Otherwise, Zotero cannot easily download metadata and articles into the app.
This plugin allows you to create a bibliography, in-text citations, and footnotes or endnotes from within word processing software.
Zotero automatically installs the plugin for Microsoft Word & LibreOffice.
Note: If you upgraded from Version 6.x to Version 7, in Zotero open Edit then click on Settings, and go to Cite & click on
Reinstall Microsoft Word Add-in
Open Microsoft Word, and click on the Zotero tab to display tools:
Using Google Docs? No plugin required. Click here for Zotero support documentation.
Using LibreOffice? Click here for plugin.
You do not need to register your Zotero account but you may want to do this at a later date as there are a
number of advantages including the ability to sync your citations to the Zotero site, allowing you to
access them from any computer at any time.
Modified 7/15/2024
Zotero is a free Web application developed for Google Chrome, FireFox, Microsoft Edge, Opera, & Safari web browsers, and integrates with word processing programs such as MS Word & Google Docs. It allows you to quickly cite in-text and format references in a multitude of styles (APA, MLA, Chicago, Turabian, etc.). Zotero allows you to collect, manage, cite, and share references you've collected for your research.
This guide will walk you through modifying the Preferences tabs screens to configure Zotero.
Important: This guide is intended for users who have just installed Zotero for the first time.
If you already have entries loaded into a past Zotero installation, we recommend you backup your Zotero folder before proceeding, and then after completing customizing, copy your old Zotero folder to a new location on either the Desktop or in Documents.
Please connect to the Internet while configuring Zotero.
If you have not yet downloaded and installed Zotero, please see the Library's Installing Zotero guide for directions with screen shots.
Please Skip this step if your Zotero already contains entries!
You need to decide where to save your Zotero files & retrieved articles. We highly recommend saving to either Documents, or to the Desktop (makes it much easier when migrating to a new computer or quickly backing up), so the first step is to create a New folder in that place & name it: Zotero To access the Preferences settings, open Zotero, then click on the Edit menu choice, and select Preferences:
Advanced tab -- Files and Folders sub-tab
Under Data Directory Location, click on the Choose button and select the newly-created Zotero folder which appears on your Desktop.
Zotero will add the information to the screen similar to above, but with your username.
You will be prompted that it must re-start Zotero.
Modify OpenURL Custom Resolver:
Replace: http://worldcatlibraries.org/registry/gateway
With: https://nmu.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?vid=01NOMICH_INST:NMU&lang=en&mode=advanced
[either copy & paste, or right-click & Copy link address & paste]
On the General tab you may adjust the User Interface Layout, Font size, & Note font size (recommendations below).
A new feature in Version 5.0 is selecting the Layout (red outline below):
Standard Layout displays a selected entry on the right side of the list of items.
Stacked Layout displays a selected entry underneath the list of items.
All boxes are checked by default.
New to version 5.0.36 are changes to indexing PDFs, which is now automatic--no separate installer needed.
Only use if you plan on creating an account & using storage on Zotero server for yourself or group work.
Sync is also beneficial if you are using multiple computers (e.g., work & home) to manage sources.
Enter the username & password used when you created account on Zotero web site.
Note that Sync does not replace making regular backups of your local Zotero files, and cannot be used to restore your Zotero files if your hard drive is damaged or requires re-imaging
PDF Indexing is a feature which allows you to drag-and-drop previously downloaded pdf files into Zotero, and then have it search for metadata on that file & create an entry for you.
As Zotero facilitates creating your own "library" of sources, enabling PDF Indexing will include those sources when searching within Zotero.
Beginning with Zotero version 5.0.36, this screen shows indexing statistics.
This is another area where you should set the Default style you will use. Note that you may always change the default. Under the Default Output Format, click on the drop arrow to change style.
There are over 9,000 citation styles available for Zotero including many styles based on individual journal titles. Zotero only comes configured with the more popular styles but you may add any of the other styles while inside of Zotero.
After clicking on the Cite tab, click on the Styles sub-tab.
Next, locate the style from the list & click on it to select.If you do not see your specific style, click on the Get additional styles... link (see screen shot below) which will open the Zotero Style Repository, and search for your style. Left-click on the style name to select, which will then load that template into Zotero.
Citation Options - Real important especially for APA, MLA, & Chicago styles
Check the box next to the label: Include URLs of paper articles in references.
It is highly recommended using the classic insert citation interface. So on the Word Processors sub-tab,
check the box next to the label: Use classic Add Citation dialog
Important: You MUST click the OK button to save all changes.
You are now ready to use Zotero.
As with most things, Zotero is not perfect. Always check your citations for accuracy. Zotero will not correct data or capitalized titles for instance. Be sure to check the data for each citation. You can always edit the citations in Zotero.
The Olson Library also has some older test prep manuals online and in print. To find them, do a keyword search in OneSearch for "GRE".