The library is closed today!

Doors are locked 15 minutes before closing.

Languages, Literatures, and International Studies

Search Widget - One Search | Catalog | Databases

Search the Lydia M. Olson Library's catalog of books, e-books, articles, audio, and video! Click Full Text Online to see only books and articles available entirely online; click Peer Reviewed to see articles that have been vetted by experts.

Most of the books on languages, literatures, and international studies we hold are on our second floor, in the P section.

PC has books on the French and Spanish languages (including dictionaries) and PQ has books of literature in French and Spanish, together with English translations.

PF has books on the German language (including dictionaries) and PD has books on the Norwegian, Swedish, and Danish languages. PT has books of literature in German and Scandinavian languages (except Finnish), together with English translations.

PG has books on the Russian language and books of Russian literature, together with English translations.

PH has books on the Finnish language and books of Finnish literature, together with English translations.

PL has books on the Chinese language and books of Chinese literature, together with English translations.

We have books on learning other languages and literatures, too! Just do a catalog search or ask at the front desk.

You can find a map of the second floor of the library here: https://library.nmu.edu/about/library_upper.htm

Gale Literary Sources

Provides access to information and articles about literary authors. Covers 1991 to the present.

Oxford Reference Online

Includes a variety of reference tools, including bilingual dictionaries in French, German, and Spanish (also Welsh, Irish, Italian, and Latin).

The Smithsonian Institution Collections Search Center

Search over 14.1 million records of museum objects and archives and library materials including more than three million online images, audio and video materials, and blog posts.

The New York Public Library Picture Collection Online

The Picture Collection Online presents more than 30,000 digitized images from books, magazines and newspapers as well as original photographs, prints and postcards, mostly created before 1923.

EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History

This directory provides links to primary resources in European history, divided by country. Ranges from prehistory to modern times. Most documents include English translation.

Specialized tools for the study of different languages.

 

Online Resources:

The University of Chicago has a digitized version of Diderot and d'Alembert's Encyclopedie. They even have an app you can download!

The Gallica database of the French press, digitized by the Bibliothèque nationale de France, allows viewers to browse historic newspapers and journals on all topics from across France and the Francophone world. Use the menu at the left to navigate. The site is in French but some pages can be translated into English.

The Digital Library of the Caribbean has many primary sources related to the Francophone Caribbean online. Site can be accessed in English, French, and Spanish.

Books:

PQ41 .N48 1995 The new Oxford companion to literature in French edited by Peter France (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1995)

PQ41 .L48 1992 Guide to French literature by Anthony Levi (Chicago: St. James Press, 1994)

Historical dictionary of French literature by John Flower (Lanham, Maryland: Scarecrow Press, 2013)

PQ3980.A52 D53 2001 Dictionnaire des oeuvres littéraires de langue française en Afrique au sud du Sahara sous la direction d'Ambroise Kom (Paris: L'Harmattan, 2001)

Z2176 .B68 A selected bibliography on modern French history, 1600 to the present edited by John Bowditch and Raymond Grew (Ann Arbor, Mich.: Xerox University Microfilms, 1974)

DC33.2 .M44 1995 Medieval France: an encyclopedia by William W. Kibler (New York: Garland, 1995)

Online Resources:

Yale University online guide to reading Fraktur, the letter style used in German type and handwriting until WWII.

Jake Rainis, a calligrapher, created his own tutorial on writing Fraktur.

The United States Holocaust Memorial Museum's site is an important resource.

Books:

PT41.G55 Glossary of German literary terms by E. W. Herd (Denedin: University of Otago, 1983)

PT41.G3 1997 Oxford companion to German literature (3rd ed.) by Mary Garland (Oxford: Oxford University, 1997)

PT41.F46 1997 Feminist encyclopedia of German literature edited by Friederike Eigler and Susanne Kord (Westport: Greenwood, 1997)

PT155.U5 Handbook of Austrian literature by Frederick Ungar (New York: Ungar, 1973)

DD290.26.E53 1999 Encyclopedia of contemporary German culture edited by John Sandford (New York: Routledge, 1999)

DD126.M43 2001 Medieval Germany: an encyclopedia edited by John M. Jeep (New York: Garland, 2001)

Search the library catalog for "NMU Holocaust" to find the Olson Library's exhaustive collection of books and DVDs on the Shoah.

Online Resources:

The Teresa Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies at the University of Texas has a page of digital collections with a whole range of primary sources, including digitized government documents, materials relating to the history of Latinx communities in the United States, examples of the earliest books printed in the Americas (pre-1601), and the Archive of Indigenous Languages of Latin America.

For information on Miguel de Cervantes Saavedra, check out the Cervantes Project and also the Quijote Interactivo at the Biblioteca Nacional de España.

Books:

F1406 .E53 1996 Encyclopedia of Latin American history and culture by Barbara A. Tenenbaum (New York: Scribner's Sons, c1996)

F1410 .E56 2002 Encyclopedia of Latin American politics by Diana Kapiszewski (Westport, Conn.: Oryx Press, 2002)

F1408 .L3225 1992 Latin America and the Caribbean by Paula H. Covington and others (New York: Greenwood Press, 1992)

Z1609.L7 F55 Bibliografía de escritores hispanoamericanos, 1609-1974 by Angel Flores (New York: Gordian, 1975)

PQ6006 .O93 The Oxford companion to Spanish literature edited by Philip Ward (Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1978)

Latina and Latino voices in literature: lives and works by Frances Ann Day (Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2003)

The generally accepted citation style for Languages, Literatures, and International Studies courses is MLA.

The Purdue Online Writing Lab MLA Formatting and Style Guide offers a quick overview of the format. Ignore the "Cite Your Source Automatically in MLA" box- it will take you to another site.

The library also owns several print copies of MLA. Look on the second floor at LB2369 .G53 2016.

The Olson Library also has some older test prep manuals online and in print. To find them, do a keyword search in OneSearch for "GRE".

Ask Us
Feedback