Nursing: Undergraduate (BSN)

By Michael Strahan on Sun, 07/07/2019 - 10:32

This NMU Olson Library guide to undergraduate Nursing resources was last updated: 9/15/2023


** New for 2023** UpToDate with Lexicomp Drug Interactions & calculators

Mobile app now has voice recognition!

CLICK ON UpToDate Tab Above to Learn More & Access Resource


JAMA now available online (1998-present including Online First )


Note: BoardVitals and Stat!Ref (ebooks) are no longer available

 

CLICK HERE TO RESERVE A ROOM

 

Mike @ Reference

By Michael Strahan on Sat, 08/03/2019 - 09:29

Updated: September 18, 2023 for fall semester

Professor Mike Strahan is generally available for assistance weekday afternoons until 5pm, & evenings 8pm - 11 pm ET. 

Assistance is available via Live Chat (see box on right side of this library guide & his other library guides), EduCat Messaging, email or phone (details below my picture).

Professor Strahan is also available via Zoom by Appointment (including groups).

Students may schedule an appointment with Professor Strahan via live chat, clicking on the "Schedule Appointment" button, through EduCat Messaging, via email:  Click here to email Professor Mike Strahan or phone.

For those students who attend classes on-campus or visit campus, Professor Strahan is available in person:

Mondays: 1 - 4 pm @ Reference, 4 - 5pm in office

Tuesdays: 1 - 4 pm @ Reference, 4 - 5pm in office

Wednesdays: 1 - 4 pm @ Reference, 4 - 5pm in office

Fridays: 2 - 4 pm in office

Professor Strahan looks forward to helping you with APA style, searching, and questions about Library services.

 

ANA Code of Ethics for Nurses with Interpretive Statements (2015)


 

APA Style 7th edition Reference Example for the Code:

American Nurses Association. (2015). Code of ethics for nurses with interpretive statements. 

        https://www.nursingworld.org/coe-view-only

(2017 & 2019) NANDA International Nursing Diagnoses Definitions & Classification, 2018-2020; and Supplement (on Reserves in the library--ask at Desk)

(2017) ECG Interpretation Made Incredibly Easy!: Pocket Guide

 

 

UpToDate

UpToDate is an evidence-based clinical point-of-care full text resource. Aimed towards students, professionals, and patients, includes the latest information about drugs & diseases. Updated daily, peer-reviewed by expert physicians, and highly reliable. Coverage is extensive, and entries include references. Also includes a number of calculators / assessment tools, scores, scales, and medical equations. Includes searchable Lexicomp® Drug Interactions, and "What's New" section.
 
Users are encouraged to create an account in order to save/bookmark entries & search history.
 
Individuals planning on downloading the app or needing to track CME/CE/CPD credits must create a personal UpToDate account.
 
*Click here for directions to create your own account, which will allow access from 2 devices. Note that users of the app are required every 90 days to access UpToDate using the above link and login using your personal account.


 

Start with highly-authoritative organizational web sites

Cleveland Clinic (authoritative web site)

Mayo Clinic (authoritative web site)

CDC (authoritative web site)

WHO (authoritative web site)

 

...then use a specialized search engine which finds only credible authoritative web sites:

 Medical professionals & Patients use this search engine to find HONcode-certified web pages 

(excludes government sites) NOTE: this search engine will be discontinued on Dec. 15, 2022)


See Library's APA guide for an example of how to format reference entry for web pages authored by

Mayo Clinic Staff, CDC, and others.

New 2020 OneSearch (advanced search screen)

Use this link to access the advanced search screen, where users may indicate which fields to search (e.g., title, author, or subject) instead of everything. Also allows the searcher to set some limits (material type such as books or journals, language, and publication years) before running the search.

Academic Complete by Ebook Central

Over 135,000 ebooks for students at all levels - from undergrad to post-doctoral research - and including topics across all disciplines. Over 1,000 new titles added each year.

eBook Academic Collection

Offering more than 170,000 e-books, this collection of multidisciplinary eBooks includes titles from leading university presses and academic publishers. Brought to you by the Library of Michigan via the Michigan eLibrary (https://mel.org).

 

 

DSM-5

By Michael Strahan on Tue, 08/06/2019 - 15:38

This NMU library guide revised 9/12/2022
 

Access NMU Library License to Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th ed. (DSM-5) (2013)


Access NMU Library License to Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th ed., Text Revision (DSM-5-TR) (2022)

 

How to cite using APA style 7th edition


APA Reference of entire work:

American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders

        (5th ed.). https://doi.org/10.1176/appi.books.9780890425596


How to cite this work in-text:
Parenthetical: (American Psychiatric Association, 2013)
Narrative: American Psychiatric Association (2013)

 

APA Reference formats of DSM-5, citing specific chapter (each assigned DOI):

American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Anxiety disorders. In Diagnostic and statistical manual

        of mental disorders (5th ed.). https://doi.org/10.1176/appi.books.9780890425596.dsm05


How to cite this work in-text:
Parenthetical: (American Psychiatric Association, 2013)
Narrative: There are a variety of anxiety disorders discussed in the American Psychiatric Association's (2013)   Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (5th ed.; DSM-5).
Direct quote: (American Psychiatric Association, 2013, Panic Disorder section, para. 2)


APA Reference of entire work:

American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders

        (5th ed.). https://doi.org/10.1176/appi.books.9780890425596


How to cite this work in-text:
Parenthetical: (American Psychiatric Association, 2013)
Narrative: American Psychiatric Association (2013)

 

How to cite using APA style 6th edition
 

APA Reference formats of DSM-5, citing specific chapter (each assigned DOI):

American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Anxiety disorders. In Diagnostic and statistical manual

        of mental disorders (5th ed.). Retrieved from https://doi.org/10.1176

        /appi.books.9780890425596.dsm05


APA Reference of entire work:

American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders

        (5th ed.). Retrieved from https://doi.org/10.1176/appi.books.9780890425596

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

Journals, books, and other resources on subjects including nursing, emergency services, nutrition, occupational therapy, physical therapy, optometry, public health, speech-language pathology & audiology, and surgical technology. 1937 to present.

PubMed

Journal articles covering biomedical research and the clinical sciences including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health, and pre-clinical sciences. Also good coverage of literature in cellular and molecular biology and biochemistry. Formerly known as MEDLINE. Mid 1960's to present.

Access note: Must use this special URL for NMU Logo links to appear in article abstracts

PsycINFO

Journals, books, and other resources covering psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including: anthropology, business, education, law, linguistics, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, physiology, and sociology. 1805 to present.

Google Scholar

Journal articles, books, and other resources across many subjects. Provides a "cited by" feature to indicate other papers containing a source paper as a reference.

 

ERIC

Journal articles, books, and other resources relating to education--from early childhood to higher education. Views 'education' very broadly and covers areas such as outdoor education, corporate training, speech language therapy, etc. 1966 to present.

Sociological Abstracts

Journal articles, books, and other resources on all aspects of sociology and related disciplines. Subjects include demography, environmental interactions, family and social welfare, social psychology, human biology, women's studies, health, medicine, law, etc. 1952 to present; abstracts since 1974.

Westlaw Next

Provides access to a variety of legal information, including federal and state case law, the United States Code Annotated, the Code of Federal Regulations, the Federal Register, state statutes and administrative codes, and more. Also included are 900 law journals and reviews.

 

Instructional Videos

By Michael Strahan on Wed, 07/31/2019 - 12:19

HCUPnet: Healthcare Cost & Utilization Project (extensive stats!)

American Hospital Directory (many search options including specialized services)

America's Best Hospitals (rankings by U.S. News & World Report)

Local through International Statistics Resources (includes Marquette County, state of Michigan, Federal, etc.)

        
Click here to access the new expanded JoVE Education videos!   
JoVE Education is collection of thousands of streaming videos illustrating key concepts, lab techniques/experiments, and demonstrations in a variety of disciplines primarily in the sciences & social sciences, but also humanities. Categories include Biology, Chemistry, Clinical Skills, Engineering, Environmental Sciences, Physics, Psychology, and Statistics. The NMU Library subscription also includes JoVE Core video textbooks, JoVE Science Education, JoVE Lab Manual for Biology & Chemistry, JoVE Book (Chemistry), open educational resources, and additional videos provided through JoVE Research. 

Uncategorized topics include Medicine/Nursing, Forensic Anthropology, Business, Sociology, & Art. Instructor tools include suggestions for how to use in the classroom, and create video-specific tests. Audio and transcripts available in English, Chinese, French, German, Japanese, and Spanish languages. Closed Captioning in English, Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, and Turkish languages.

 

Journal of Medical Insight (JoMI) Surgical Videos

JoMI is a streaming library of complete teaching videos of surgical procedures. Narrated by surgeon(s) performing procedure; filmed at teaching hospitals worldwide. Main Text includes abstract, case overview (imaging, exam, tests, treatment options), discussion, equipment, and citations. Also included: procedure outline, transcript, and related articles. May search/browse by keyword or specialties. Recommend creating an account to access from any device.

Academic Video Online (AVON)

Access over 70,000 videos with unlimited/simultaneous access across a wide range of subjects, platform includes 360/VR functionality.

 

Celling Your Soul (48 minutes) 
Young people interacting in the digital world.

Cooked (82 minutes) 
Racism of Chicago's 1995 heat disaster.

Day One (82 minutes) 
Teen refugees at Nahed Chapman New American Academy transitional public school in St. Louis, MO.

Forget Me Not (Vergiss Mein Nicht) (92 minutes) - German language w/English subtitles 
Caring for a mother with Alzheimer's

Refuge: Caring for Survivors of Torture (57 minutes) 
Highlights five treatment/support programs in four U.S. cities.

War in the Mind (64 minutes) 
PTSD of military veterans in Canada.

Institute for Healthcare Improvement (open access) 

ESSENTIAL EVIDENCE PLUS™ & AHFS DI® ESSENTIALS™ (American Hospital Formulary Service Drug Information)
In book outline, choose Essential Evidence Topics then select organ/disease/condition.
Entries include diagnosis, etiology, prevalence, etc.

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) 

AHRQ Evidence-based Practice Centers Reports

Star Model Thorough website from the U. of TX Academic Center for Evidence-based Nursing.

 

Anatomy TV

Anatomy TV contains rotatable 3D models of the human body and anatomical layers which may be stripped away. Also included are common pathologies, radiological content, and interactive quizzes.

 

(1991) Freddy Stark. Gray's Anatomy : A Fact-filled Coloring Book 

(2000/1918) Henry Gray. Anatomy of the Human Body

(1974/1901) Henry Gray. Anatomy, Descriptive and Surgical

 

 

Nursing: After Graduation

By Michael Strahan on Fri, 03/29/2019 - 14:14

Nursing & Health Sciences

Freely-Accessible Profession & Patient Resources after you graduate from NMU

MORE WAYS TO SEARCH
Library Catalog | MeLCat | WorldCat | Peter White Public Library
 

Accessing NMU Olson Library Resources after graduation

  1. Open to anyone walking in; may use library computers to access online databases. May e-mail material to self.

  2. Photocopiers use cash.

  3. Courtesy Card ($25/year) allow patrons to check out materials (same as students). Must
    live in the Upper Peninsula. Note: Fee is waived if member of NMU Alumni Association.

Nurses should also seek out similar resources through professional organizations.

Coping with Information Overload of the Literature

Twitter & Facebook - What else can I say in fewest words possible? Many organizations, CEU's, firms, and news providers communicate via Twitter. One example is: http://www.medscape.com/nurses

CATALIST - Directory of professional discussion lists (not chat rooms).

RSS (Really Simple Syndication) - A convenient, spam-free feeder method to automatically receive journal table of contents, tracking news, web sites, and other information. Look for orange icon. Built-in "Live Bookmarks" function through FireFox & Internet Explorer, and Chrome plugin make RSS much easier. Sometimes also labeled as Alerts. 
Note: RSS available through many resources listed on this guide.

Schloman, B. F. (2005). Staying current: What RSS can do for you. Online Journal of Issues in Nursing.

RSS/Blogs & News feeds Readers - bring together in one place 
The Old Reader
 

Nursing Center - provided by LWW - gateway of resources.

Google Alerts - automatic e-mail updates of latest Google search results on your specific topic.

MEDLINEplus  - Sponsored by the NIH & NLM.  Includes interactive tutorials, health topics, drug information, illustrated medical encyclopedia, dictionary, health directory, and other resources.  Many resources are bilingual.

NLM's Databases & Electronic Information Resources - U.S. Government-hosted online health-related databases. Examples include Visible Human Project® and Turning the Pages (digitized rare biomedical books), plus specific resources for Native Americans, Asian Americans, clinical trials, etc.

 

MEDLINEplus  - Information portal Sponsored by the NIH & NLM.  Includes interactive tutorials, health topics, drug information, illustrated medical encyclopedia, dictionary, health directory, and other resources.  Many resources are bilingual.

WebMD - Connects consumers and physicians to the health care industry.

Teachertube - Peer-reviewed broad spectrum of patient- and profession-oriented information.

MERLOT (Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning & Online Teaching) - Peer-reviewed online teaching & learning materials.

Google Videos - Familiar search interface to broad spectrum of videos appearing on Teachertube, YouTube, etc.

UpToDate - Patient & Professional-oriented information. 

 

Michigan eLibrary (MeL)  -  Requires Michigan Driver’s License # or State ID
Includes over 40 databases (some full-text) including EBSCO's e-books.

BadgerLink - Registered ISP or Wisconsin public library card number

Cyberdrive Illinois- Requires contacting local Illinois public library for authorization & password

INSPIRE Indiana Virtual Library- Requires submitting Indiana local address info for password

Minnesota Statewide Access through ELM (Electronic Library for Minnesota)- Requires Minnesota public library card barcode number

Links to 49 Statewide Virtual Library Collections - Requires DL or library card number to access collections.

OneSearch - Searching is free, but access to articles in subscription journals not available to the public.

WorldCat - simple search interface to the worldwide library catalog also available through FirstSearch. May also locate nearby libraries who hold materials by entering zip code.

ScienceDirect Journals

ScienceDirect publishes peer-reviewed scientific, technical and health journals that span 24 major scientific disciplines. They also publish numerous peer-reviewed journals in the social sciences and humanities.

Medscape Nurses - free online content includes full-text of articles with free login.

Scirus has retired.

Google Scholar

Journal articles, books, and other resources across many subjects. Provides a "cited by" feature to indicate other papers containing a source paper as a reference.

NLM For Healthcare Professionals - National Library of Medicine's portal for healthcare workers. Search clinical trials, located drug information and much more.

MEDLINE / PubMed - Includes links to many freely available online journal artilces.

IngentaConnect – free Table of Contents searchable database (charges for articles) + free e-mailing of contents for up to 5 journals.

SUMSearch 2 - searches a variety of web resources including PubMed and metasearch engines. Excellent medical/nursing-oriented limiting (filters).

ERIC

Journal articles, books, and other resources relating to education--from early childhood to higher education. Views 'education' very broadly and covers areas such as outdoor education, corporate training, speech language therapy, etc. 1966 to present.

 

Medscape Nursing journals (select titles/articles available with free login)

Free Medical Journals (open access)

Free Medical Journals: Pulmonary / Respiratory (open access)

DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) - Free online access to full content of over 4,000 scientific & scholarly journals, including Nursing, Medicine, and Public Health titles. Holdings vary by title. Click on title to access journal. Searchable on the web site; many are also indexed in CINAHL &/or MEDLINE.

BioMed Central - over 300 peer-reviewed online free Open Access journals.

LinkOut (National Library of Medicine) - Free online access to full content of over 650 journals; holdings vary by title. Click on title to access journal. All are indexed in MEDLINE.

Online Journal of Nursing Informatics -- 1996-present, free online access.  View the current issue or create an account (free) to view the complete archive.  Also available through searching the HIMSS site. Also indexed in CINAHL.

Cochrane Collaboration Consumer Network - Search and retrieve Cochrane Reviews abstracts. Consists of analyzed trials on health care treatments, advice, or other interventions in health care.  Abstracts of Reviews are searchable/viewable from this site. However, does not include full-text of reviews (only available through subscription).


NHS Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (UK) - Simultaneous searching of three databases, plus abstracts of Reviews are searchable/viewable from this site.
DARE - database of quality assessed systematic seviews
NHSEED - economic evaluations of health care interventions
HTA - health technology assessment agencies 

RePORT Expenditures and Results (RePORTER) (form. Computer Retrieval of Information on Scientific Projects) - is a biomedical database system containing information on research projects and programs supported by the Department of Health and Human Services. Most of the research falls within the broad category of extramural projects, grants, contracts, and cooperative agreements conducted primarily by universities, hospitals, and other research institutions; and funded by the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and other government agencies.

Institute for Integration of Medicine & Science (IIMS)
From the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio (UTHSCSA), the IIMS is one of 60 health research institutions working to improve the way research is conducted, and reduce the time it takes for laboratory discoveries to become treatments for patients.

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality - AHRQ - Check especially Evidence-based Practice link.

Patient Safety and Quality: An Evidence-based Handbook for Nurses
(HTML version)   (PDF version - 9.8MB)

America's Best Hospitals

American Hospital Directory

NIH Clinical Alerts & Advisories - Findings from NIH-funded clinical trials

Clinical Trials  - Federally & privately supported clinical research projects in human volunteers

Evaluating Internet Information - Provided by Olson Library

HON Code of Conduct (HONcode) - for medical and health websites

National Academies Press- Search full-text of books & reports "issued by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council, all operating under a charter granted by the Congress of the United States." Free login required to view free PDF books or book chapters. .

Institute for Healthcare Improvement (open access) 

ESSENTIAL EVIDENCE PLUS™ & AHFS DI® ESSENTIALS™ (American Hospital Formulary Service Drug Information)
In book outline, choose Essential Evidence Topics then select organ/disease/condition.
Entries include diagnosis, etiology, prevalence, etc.

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) 

AHRQ Evidence-based Practice Centers Reports

Institute for Integration of Medicine & Science (IIMS)
From the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio (UTHSCSA), the IIMS is one of 60 health research institutions working to improve the way research is conducted, and reduce the time it takes for laboratory discoveries to become treatments for patients.

Copyright ©   by the Northern Michigan University Board of Trustees. NMU is an equal opportunity Institution.

Ask Us
Feedback