Search the Lydia M. Olson Library's collection of books, e-books, articles, audio, and video! Click Available Online to see only books and articles available entirely online; click Peer- Reviewed Journals to see articles that have been vetted by experts.
Most of the books on philosophy and religious studies we own are on the upper floor of the library, in the B section.
B has books on general philosophy, while speculative philosophy is in BD and ethics is in BJ.
BL has books about religion in general, comparative religion, and mythology. It also covers Hinduism, Sikhism, Confucianism, Taoism, Shinto, and Zoroastrianism, as well as other indigenous religions of Africa, Asia, Europe, Oceania, and the Americas (except for Buddhism- see below).
BR covers Christianity, while BS has books about the Bible, BT and BV have books about Christian theology, and BX has books about individual Christian denominations (Eastern Orthodoxy, Roman Catholicism, Protestantism, etc.)
BM has books about Judaism, BP about Islam, and BQ about Buddhism.
You can find a map of the upper floor of the library here.
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is an excellent online resource for learning about different schools of philosophy and philosophers.
Project Vox is devoted to early female philosophers who have been overlooked.
To find modern philosophers from traditionally underrepresented groups, try the UP Directory maintained by the APA.
The Daily Nous is a philosophy blog that includes comics, CFPs, and more.
If you are doing a textual study of the Christian Bible, check out the Complete Parallel Bible at BS125.B5 1993, which allows you to compare four major English translations. You also might find the Oxford Companion to the Bible and the Historical Atlas of the Holy Land (G2235.F37 2003) helpful.
The Internet Sacred Texts Archive is a site of sacred texts and apologias from around the world in their original languages as well as English translation. The Atlas of the World's Religions (G1046.E4 A8 1999) is a very useful overview.
The Central Upper Peninsula and Northern Michigan University Archives collects material having to do with religion in the U. P., including papers of missionaries and religious leaders and organization records.
Philosophy and religion don't have a set citation format the way some other fields do (some venues prefer MLA and some prefer Chicago), so it's best to use Zotero or another citation manager- that way you can download your bibliography in whatever style your professor prefers.
The Olson Library also has some older test prep manuals online and in print. To find them, do a keyword search in OneSearch for "GRE".