Selected NMU Databases
Journal articles, books, and other resources across many subjects. Provides a "cited by" feature to indicate other papers containing a source paper as a reference.
Google Scholar - "Invalid Domain for Site Key" Error
In an effort to optimize user experience during peak activity, Google Scholar may prompt Northern Michigan University patrons to complete a reCAPTCHA widget to verify their non-robot status. Unfortunately, a security glitch in Google's widget may result in an "Invalid domain for site key" error for patrons accessing the Library's off-campus proxy server.
Workaround:
If you possess a Google Account, you can integrate it with the Library using the following steps:
- Visit the un-proxied version of Google Scholar at https://scholar.google.com.
- Click the "Sign In" button and log in with your NMU account (xxxx@nmu.edu).
- From the menu icon (three bars at the top left), select "Settings," then choose "Library Links."
- In the Library Links section of the Settings menu, confirm that "Northern Michigan University - Get it@NMU," is selected.
- If it is not already selected, search for Northern Michigan University in the search bar. Then, select the checkbox next to "Northern Michigan University - Get it@NMU," click the "Save" button in the lower right.
Once saved, you can return to the Google Scholar homepage. You should now be able to explore Google Scholar without utilizing NMU's off-campus proxy, while still having access to the "Get it@NMU" links directing you to our full-text databases.
If the provided workaround does not resolve your Google Scholar access issues, we recommend patience, as Google typically resets the faulty reCAPTCHA requirement after approximately 24 hours.
Additional Resources
The Craft of Writing in Sociology: Developing the Argument in Undergraduate Essays and Dissertations. 3rd floor, call number HM 569 .B35 2017
Dictionary Plus: Social Sciences. (this is an ebook)
A Dictionary of Sociology. (this is an ebook)
Analytical Sociology: Actions and Networks. (this is an ebook)
Contemporary Sociological Thinkers and Theories. (this is an ebook)
The American Sociological Association.
Sociosite (temporarily down, March 23 2020)
SocioSite is designed to get access to information and resources which are relevant for sociologists and other social scientists. It has been designed from a global point of view — it gives access to the world wide scene of social sciences. The intention is to provide a comprehensive listing of all sociology resources on the internet.
What is an annotated bibliography? Example from UNC Charlotte. The American Sociological Association has an example, "Working Annotated Bibliography", at the bottom of this link.
In addition to the databases listed on the SO 101 guide:
SocArXive
An open archive of the social sciences, provides a free, non-profit, open access platform for social scientists to upload working papers, preprints, and published papers, with the option to link data and code.
Journal articles covering biomedical research and the clinical sciences including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health, and pre-clinical sciences. Also good coverage of literature in cellular and molecular biology and biochemistry. Formerly known as MEDLINE. Mid 1960's to present.
Access note: Must use this special URL for 
links to appear in article abstracts
Government Information
usa.gov
The U.S. Government's Internet Portal. Although this is a general resource, searches here lead you to specific subjects and topics within Federal, state, and local governments. This is an excellent resource for loctating statistics and is a good place to start if you aren't sure what agency or department might deal with your topic.
Catalog of Government Publications
The finding tool for electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government. Updated daily.
Writing and Research
Going Public: a Guide for Social Scientists. (this is an ebook)
Learn to Write Badly: How to Succeed in the Social Sciences. 3rd floor. H 61.8 .B55 2013
Social Scientists Meet the Media. (this is an ebook)
Nutrition Information Resources from the National Library of Medicine. The 4 tabs "Websites and Tools", "Food Safety & Allergies", "Nutritional Research", and "Resources by Topic" are a great place to start. Some of their links include:
- The United States Department of Agriculture's (USDA) Food and Nutrition Information Center
- The Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC) Nutrition portal
- Food Insight, from the International Food Information Council (IFIC) Foundation
- Food Safety (foodsafety.gov)
- The Food Environment Atlas from the USDA.
The United States has MyPlate, Canada's food guide is here. And around the world.
The following databases from the USDA will be helpful:
- Food Data Central.
- Nutrition.gov.
- The National Agricultural Online Catalog (AGRICOLA).
- PubAg. Some overlap with AGRICOLA.
- Food Surveys Research Group
The following databases from NMU will be helpful:
- PubMed, from the US National Library of Medicine.
- Science.gov (limit your search areas to Agriculture & Food or Health & Medicine)
- Food Composition Databases from ScienceDirect.
- Agriculture--Agronomy from BioOne.
- Westlaw Next. Within the Westlaw Key Number System (subjects), #178 deals with food.
Extension Services (national and from each state)
- National (list of resource areas).
- Michigan. Plenty on that web resource, including a section on Food Policy.
- Links to other state extention services.
Within the library catalog (or WorldCat), the following subject headings can be used:
- "Food Habits" (and add in the name of a country, or region)
- "plants, cultivated"
- "Food--social aspects"
- "food industry"
- "food preferences"
- "Food consumption"
- "Food--Moral and ethical aspects"
- "Appetite -- Physiological aspects"
- "Food habits -- Psychological aspects"
- "COOKING -- Essays & Narratives"
- "Diet"
There are dozens more subject headings that will be unearthed as you search. And you can always simply type in the name of the food or meal you are interested in--less is more when searching.
Here is a loaded library guide I found, Food and Nutrition in the 20th Century from Mary White at UNC Chapel Hill Health Sciences Library.