Printable Forms - From BYU family history library; includes family group record, pedigree chart and research log
Ancestry Chart (Excel & Word templates) - Download template through Excel or Word [ New document - search Microsoft online using Word: genealogy
World Names Profiler (FPM = Frequency per million of name) - Popularity of surnames (last names) around the world. Provides maps of name concentration
Find-A-Grave - Graves in cemeteries worldwide
Family Search - Massive, searchable site of genealogical records worldwide. Create a free FamilySearch account for greater access. Includes U.S. Social Security Death Index and state death indexes. Maintained by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. New site now offering some record images.
Dates covered: Varies.
Obituary Daily Times (index only) - The Obituary Daily Times is a daily index of published obituaries throughout the world. Searchable by married or maiden name. Entries include name, age, city where died, name and date of newspaper. Note: Information contributed by volunteers, so coverage dates vary by newspaper.
Dates Covered : Approximately 1999- present
Upper Peninsula History Section: F 572 .N8 (Library upper floor)
Upper Peninsula newspapers on microfilm (located in Archives)
Resources About Names:
Behind the Name: The Etymology and History of FirstNames Etymological dictionary of first names. The site also features most popular names, namesakes, name days, family tree for names, related names, popularity in some countries, and a name translator. Created and maintained by a hobbyist.
The Century Cyclopedia of Names (1900) (Edited by Benjamin E. Smith. London: The Times.
Ancestry - Discover the meaning and history behind your last name
GenealogyBank - Discover your last name origin & meaning
A Dictionary of First Names (2nd edition)
[Access restricted to the NMU community. ONLY 5 SIMULTANEOUS USERS]
The Concise Dictionary of World Place-Names (2nd edition)
[Access restricted to the NMU community. ONLY 5 SIMULTANEOUS USERS]
A Dictionary of British Place Names (1st ed. rev.)
[Access restricted to the NMU community. ONLY 5 SIMULTANEOUS USERS]
A Dictionary of London Place Names (2nd ed.)
[Access restricted to the NMU community. ONLY 5 SIMULTANEOUS USERS]
Cyndi's List - Names - Locality & Ethnic (British, Cornish, Chinese, etc. - Links to resources)
The Mining Journal (MQT) - Full text coverage of over 600 U.S. and 500 international newspapers, wire services, and news agencies.
Michigan Online Historical Newspapers
Escanaba Area Newspapers (Courtesy of the Escanaba Public Library)
Chronicling America :Historic Newspapers
Wall Street Journal - Available to the NMU community only.
Ellis Island Records - Searchable Port of New York passenger records. Provides residence, year arrived, age upon arrival, passenger record, ship manifest, & ship image. Viewing records requires registration.
Dates Covered: 1892 - 1924
RootsWeb - popular searchable genealogy site
Cyndi's List - THE web resource for genealogy
Online full-text/full-image book digitization projects (full or partial access)
Internet Archive - Online text collections, fully searchable, non-profit, no registration/account required.
May download entire books, videos, etc.
Hathi Trust - Online text collections, fully searchable, non-profit, no registration/account required.
May not download entire books (only member universities).
Google Book Search (advanced mode) - Online text & magazine collections, fully searchable, for-profit, Google account required to view selected text. May not download entire books or magazines..
American Memory Project (Library of Congress) - Searchable database of primary & secondary material including photographs.
Google (Advanced Search)- More control over search results.