This NMU Library guide to Deaf Studies resources was last updated: 1/2/2024
Mike @ Reference
Updated: March 13, 2024 for winter 2024 semester of library renovation
Professor Mike Strahan is generally available for assistance weekday afternoons 1pm - 4pm ET, & evenings 8pm - 11 pm ET via live chat, email, & zoom.
Assistance is available via Live Chat (see box on right side of this library guide & his other library guides), EduCat Messaging, email or phone (906-227-2463).
Professor Strahan is also available via Zoom by Appointment (including groups).
Students may schedule an appointment with Professor Strahan via live chat, clicking on the "Schedule Appointment" button, through EduCat Messaging, phone, or via email: Click here to email Professor Mike Strahan
For those students who attend classes on-campus or visit campus, Professor Strahan is available in person:
Mondays: 1 - 4 pm @ Reference in Jamrich Hall lobbies (look for green sign)
Tuesdays: 1 - 5pm in office (Library in Gries ground floor)
Wednesdays: 1 - 3pm @ Reference in Whitman Room 179 (Dept. of Education office--see arrow below). Look for green sign.
Wednesdays: 3 - 4pm Reference in The Science Building Room 1540A (go through Hearing Clinic across from SLH Office Room 1513), & 4 - 5pm (office hour) in Room 1540A. Look for green signs.
Thursdays: usually not available afternoons, but available Thursday evenings online.
Fridays: 2 - 4 pm in office (Library in Gries ground floor)
Please note: Library instruction & committee meetings may affect the above daytime schedule.
Professor Strahan looks forward to helping you with APA style, searching, and questions about Library services.
Acquired in 2022
The Handbook of Bilingual and Multilingual Education (2015) - Check out Chapter 23 Bilingual Deaf Education
The Gallaudet Dictionary of American Sign Language (2021)
Turn on the Words! : Deaf Audiences, Captions, and the Long Struggle for Access (2021) - History of closed captioning & movie theater captioning for the Deaf
Deaf American Literature From Carnival to the Canon (2009)
Sounds of the Heart: A Story of a HearStrong Champion Persisting Against All Odds (2022) - Story about Latisha Porter-Vaughn. New Item shelves: HV 2534 .P67 2022
Where I Stand: On the Signing Community and My DeafBlind Experience (2014) - by John Lee Clark
HV 2534 .C53 A5 2014
Deaf Lit Extravaganza (2013) - Collection of short works of Deaf American literature
PS 508 .D43 D426 2013
SAGE Deaf Studies Encyclopedia (2016)
APA 7th edition reference example for an entry in this encyclopedia (Note: in this encyclopedia, the author name appears at end of entry before references):
Mori, S. (2016). Japan: Deaf community. In G. Gertz & P. Boudreault (Eds.), The SAGE Deaf Studies
encyclopedia (pp. 528-532). SAGE. https://doi.org/10.4135/9781483346489
Encyclopedia of Deafness and Hearing Disorders (2004) 1 person at a time
Gallaudet Encyclopedia of Deaf People and Deafness (1987) 3 volumes
On Reserves for 2-hour loan
Ask for it by title
New 2020 OneSearch (advanced search screen)
Use this link to access the advanced search screen, where users may indicate which fields to search (e.g., title, author, or subject) instead of everything. Also allows the searcher to set some limits (material type such as books or journals, language, and publication years) before running the search.
News and Newpapers, a Proquest Database
NMU database. Worldwide news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s from leading newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites. Also a large collections of local and regional newspapers.
Journal articles covering biomedical research and the clinical sciences including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health, and pre-clinical sciences. Also good coverage of literature in cellular and molecular biology and biochemistry. Formerly known as MEDLINE. Mid 1960's to present.
Access note: Must use this special URL for 
links to appear in article abstracts
Journal articles, books, and other resources across many subjects. Provides a "cited by" feature to indicate other papers containing a source paper as a reference.
Google Scholar - "Invalid Domain for Site Key" Error
In an effort to optimize user experience during peak activity, Google Scholar may prompt Northern Michigan University patrons to complete a reCAPTCHA widget to verify their non-robot status. Unfortunately, a security glitch in Google's widget may result in an "Invalid domain for site key" error for patrons accessing the Library's off-campus proxy server.
Workaround:
If you possess a Google Account, you can integrate it with the Library using the following steps:
- Visit the un-proxied version of Google Scholar at https://scholar.google.com.
- Click the "Sign In" button and log in with your NMU account (xxxx@nmu.edu).
- From the menu icon (three bars at the top left), select "Settings," then choose "Library Links."
- In the Library Links section of the Settings menu, confirm that "Northern Michigan University - Get it@NMU," is selected.
- If it is not already selected, search for Northern Michigan University in the search bar. Then, select the checkbox next to "Northern Michigan University - Get it@NMU," click the "Save" button in the lower right.
Once saved, you can return to the Google Scholar homepage. You should now be able to explore Google Scholar without utilizing NMU's off-campus proxy, while still having access to the "Get it@NMU" links directing you to our full-text databases.
If the provided workaround does not resolve your Google Scholar access issues, we recommend patience, as Google typically resets the faulty reCAPTCHA requirement after approximately 24 hours.
Group Activity
Before coming to the NMU Library
- Reserve a study room to view DVD with your group (Choose room w/monitor)(up to 2 weeks in advance)
(Note: if all rooms are booked, there is a media viewing station located in the back of the main floor near the Media collection)
- Look at covers below
- Search the library catalog by title to learn more about the video
When you visit the NMU Library to view (don't forget to bring your student ID)
- Go to the Public Services Desk
- Ask to check out a DVD player (here's a picture) . Note that students who have an NMU laptop may also get a free DVD player from the HelpDesk.
- Request the DVD from Reserves by telling them the title
- Go to your study room (or media viewing station if no room available)
- Do not forget to create the APA style reference for the video. An example is provided below:
Ganezer, G. T., & Posner, A. (Presenters). (2010). Common expressions in American Sign
Language. Volume 1 [Film; educational DVD]. Everyday ASL Productions.
https://everydayasl.com/products/common-expressions-in-american-sign-language-vol-1
In-text cite of this source using direct quote DFST requirement: (Ganezer & Posner, 2010, 15:00)
Searching for biographies by occupation? Keyword search works best Check out the Gallaudet U. Library Guide
Follow these steps to find out about historical figures who contributed to the Deaf community
[Using OneSearch]
Copy the following line:
life OR autobiography OR biography OR death OR obituary
Then access OneSearch 2020 Advanced Search and paste that line in the first box.
In the second box, enter the person placing the name within quotation marks, such as
"Helen Keller" (Note: capitalization is not necessary).
See screen shot below:
If the above strategy yields no results or irrelevant results, click on Advanced (near the top) link which will
return to the search screen, and then you delete quotation marks around the name.
Next, change the field from "Any field" to "Title" and hit the enter key.
If this change shows too many results, add the following word after the name: Deaf
Also if necessary, remove the "biography" line to yield more relevant results.
[Using JSTOR]
Consider searching JSTOR which includes online access to a number of archival Deaf Studies journals.
Enter the person's name; start with the name within quotation marks, such as "Helen Keller" and also add the
word: Deaf
[Using Google Scholar / Google Books / Google]
Finally consider using Google Scholar (please use this link, not go directly, as you will miss out on NMU Library
partnership with Google). Besides name, also add the word Deaf in your search.
Note that Google Scholar also includes links to Google Books (use this link to access advanced search
screen). However, we recommend also searching separately using the above link, to take advantage of the
Preview feature.
When results appear, Google will try to automatically translate, but we advise to re-set to "show original" so that
you can more easily see which works are written in languages other than English. Then if you want to translate
works individually, this gives you more flexibility.
Edmund Booth : Deaf Pioneer (2004)
A world of knowing: a story about Thomas Hopkins Gallaudet (1995) [Children's book] 1 person at a time
[Helen Keller sampling]
Helen Keller: selected writings (2007)
Radical lives of Helen Keller (2007)
[Laurent Marie Clerc]
Adventures of a Deaf-Mute and Other Short Pieces (2017)
DFST 362: Legal Civil Rights Movement of Deaf Community
Deaf culture: exploring Deaf communities in the United States (2nd ed. 2022)
Legal Rights: The Guide for Deaf and Hard of Hearing People (6th ed. 2015)
DFST 358: Deaf Community Culture
Be Opened! The Church in the United States and Deaf Culture (2021)
Cultural and language diversity and the deaf experience (1996) 1 person at a time
Deaf American Prose 1830-1930 (2013)
Deaf Culture: Exploring Deaf Communities in the United States (2nd ed. 2022)
Deaf Community in America: History in the Making (2012)
Deaf Gain: Raising the Stakes for Human Diversity (2014)
Deaf Liberation Theology (2016, c2007)
Forbidden Signs: American Culture and the Campaign against Sign Language (1998)
Handbook to Service the Deaf and Hard of Hearing: A Bridge to Accessibility (2004)
It's a small world: International Deaf spaces and encounters (2015)
Nothing About Us Without Us (1998)
Open Your Eyes: Deaf Studies Talking (2008)
Politics of Visual Language: Deafness, Language Choice, and Political Socialization (1999)
Reading Victorian Deafness (2013)
Signs of Hope: Deafhearing Family Life (2012)
Silent poetry: Deafness, sign, and visual culture in modern France (1995)
Social constructions of Deafness: examining Deaf languacultures in education (2012)
Sounds like home: growing up Black and deaf in the South (2019 - Revised edition) [Women]
The Hidden Treasure of Black ASL: Its History and Structure (2020)
Understanding Deaf Culture : In Search of Deafhood (2003)
Words Made Flesh: Nineteenth-Century Deaf Education and the Growth of Deaf Culture (2012)
DFST 363: Mainstream PS & D/deaf Experience
Alone in the Mainstream: A Deaf Woman Remembers Public School (2004)
Analyzing Syntax and Semantics: A Self-Instructional Approach for Teachers and Clinicians (1984)
Deaf and disability studies: interdisciplinary perspectives (2010)
Deaf children in public schools: placement, context, and consequences (1997) 1 person at a time
Deaf epistemologies, identity, and learning: a comparative perspective (2016)
Deaf eyes on interpreting (2018)
Educating Deaf Students : From Research to Practice (2001)
How Deaf Children Learn : What Parents and Teachers Need to Know (2011)
Illusions of equality: Deaf Americans in school and factory, 1850-1950 (1999) 1 person at a time
Interpreting in multilingual, multicultural contexts (2010)
Issues unresolved: new perspectives on language and deaf education (1998) 1 person at a time
Literacy and Deafness : Listening and Spoken Language (2013)
Reading Between the Signs: Intercultural Communication for Sign Language Interpreters (2011, c2006)
Tell me how it reads : tutoring deaf and hearing students in the writing center (2012)
DFST 105: Fingerspell & Numbers: Receptive & Expressive Skill Development
Adventures of a Deaf-Mute and Other Short Pieces (2017)
Language in Motion: Exploring the Nature of Sign (1995)
The phonetics of fingerspelling (1992)
DFST 360: Deaf History
Agatha Tiegel Hanson: Our Places in the Sun (2023)
Crossing the divide: representations of Deafness in biography (2006)
Crying hands: eugenics and Deaf people in Nazi Germany (1999) 1 person at a time
Deaf community in America: history in the making (2012)
Deaf empowerment: emergence, struggle, and rhetoric (1997) 1 person at a time
Deaf Gain: Raising the Stakes for Human Diversity (2014)
Deaf Heritage: A Narrative History of Deaf America (2012)
Deaf in the USSR: Marginality, Community, and Soviet Identity, 1917-1991 (2017)
Deaf People in Hitler's Europe (2002)
Education of Laura Bridgman: first Deaf and blind person to learn language
Everyone Here Spoke Sign Language: Hereditary Deafness on Martha's Vineyard (1985)
Far from Home: Memories of World War II and Afterward (2004) [African-American Women]
Fighting in the Shadows: The Untold Story of Deaf People in the Civil War (2017)
Forbidden Signs: American Culture and the Campaign against Sign Language (1998)
Illusions of equality: Deaf Americans in school and factory, 1850-1950 (1999) 1 person at a time
In our own hands: essays in deaf history, 1780-1970 (2016)
Reading Victorian Deafness (2013)
Show of hands: a natural history of sign language (2011)
A silent minority: Deaf education in Spain, 1550-1835 (1997)
Silent poetry: Deafness, sign, and visual culture in modern France (1995)
Sounds like home: growing up Black and deaf in the South (2019 - Revised edition) [Women]
Speaking in Tongues : Languages at Play in the Theatre (2010)
The Hidden Treasure of Black ASL: Its History and Structure (2020)
When the Mind Hears (2010) 1 person at a time.
Viewing options for this book: Read online; or Download entire book.
Cannot print or copy from this title.
Words Made Flesh: Nineteenth-Century Deaf Education and the Growth of Deaf Culture (2012)
DFST 101 - ASL 1
Thinking about continuing in Deaf Studies? Rebecca recommends viewing these resources
DFST 310 Deaf World through Media
ebooks
Closed Captioning: Subtitling, Stenography, and the Digital Convergence of Text with Television
Turn on the words! : Deaf audiences, captions, and the long struggle for access
Videos
Mr. Holland’s Opus (restricted access to only inside of EduCat course)
DFST 361 Multi-Culturalism: Deaf Minorities Within
Adventures of a Deaf-Mute and Other Short Pieces (2017)
Alandra's Lilacs: The Story of a Mother and Her Deaf Daughter (1999)
Amy Signs: A Mother, Her Deaf Daughter, and Their Stories (2012)
Artificial Ear: Cochlear Implants and the Culture of Deafness (2009)
Critical Autoethnography Intersecting Cultural Identities in Everyday Life (2013)
Cultural and language diversity and the Deaf experience (1996)
Day by day: the chronicles of a hard of hearing reporter (2008)
Deaf and disability studies: interdisciplinary perspectives (2010)
Deaf-Blind Reality: Living the Life (2012)
Deaf culture: exploring Deaf communities in the United States (2nd ed. 2022)
Deaf epistemologies, identity, and learning: a comparative perspective (2016)
Deaf Hearing Boy: A Memoir (2004)
Deaf in Delhi: A memoir (2006)
Deaf Women's Lives: Three Self-Portraits (2004)
Education of Laura Bridgman: first deaf and blind person to learn language (2001)
Far from Home: Memories of World War II and Afterward (2004) [African-American Women]
If a Tree Falls: A Family's Quest to Hear and Be Heard (2010)
Lessons in Laughter: The Autobiography of a Deaf Actor (1989)
Man Without Words (1995) [Mexican Indian]
Many ways to be Deaf: international variation in Deaf communities (2003)
Mean Little Deaf Queer: A Memoir (2009) [Artists, Women, Lesbians]
Mrs. Sigourney of Hartford: poems and prose on the early American deaf community (2013)
My Life of Language: A Memoir (2017)
My life with kangaroos: a deaf woman's remarkable story (2013)
My sense of silence: Memoirs of a childhood with deafness (2000)
On the beat of truth: a hearing daughter's stories of her black deaf parents (2013)
Paris in America: A Deaf Nanticoke Shoemaker and His Daughter (2018)
Reading between the signs: intercultural communication for sign language interpreters (1999)
Shall I Say a Kiss? The Courtship Letters of a Deaf Couple, 1936-1938 [1999]
Signs of Hope: Deafhearing Family Life (2012)
Sounds like home: growing up Black and deaf in the South (2019 - Revised edition) [Women]
The Hidden Treasure of Black ASL: Its History and Structure (2020)
The Stories They Told Me: The Life of My Deaf Parents (2017)
Unspeakable: The Story of Junius Wilson (2007)
What's That Pig Outdoors?: A Memoir of Deafness (2010)
Agatha Tiegel Hanson: Our Places in the Sun (2023)
Alandra's Lilacs: The Story of a Mother and Her Deaf Daughter (1999)
Amy Signs: A Mother, Her Deaf Daughter, and Their Stories (2012)
Day by day: the chronicles of a hard of hearing reporter (2008)
Deaf women: a parade through the decades (1989)
[Print copy forthcoming]
The light of deaf women: inspirational stories from visionaries, artists, founders & entrepreneurs (2018) [bios of 80 women]
Print copy available in library @ HV 2390 .L54 2018
Women and deafness: Double visions (2006)
[Print copy forthcoming]
[more titles forthcoming]
DFST 345: Exploring World Sign Languages
Advances in the Sign Language Development of Deaf Children (2005)
American Sign Language handshape dictionary 1998 1 person at a time
Encyclopedia of Deafness and Hearing Disorders (2004) 1 person at a time
Everyone Here Spoke Sign Language: Hereditary Deafness on Martha's Vineyard (1988)
Forbidden Signs: American Culture and the Campaign against Sign Language (1998)
Grammar, Gesture, and Meaning in American Sign Language (2003)
My first book of sign (1986) Children's book 1 person at a time
On Relativization and Clefting: An Analysis of Italian Sign Language (2015)
Sign languages of the world: a comparative handbook (2015) - 38 countries
The Hidden Treasure of Black ASL: Its History and Structure (2020)
Section revised March 1, 2022 (many additions)
Note: some urls are broken. In process of fixing.
February: by/about people who are Black/African American & D/deaf
Cultural and language diversity and the deaf experience (1996)
Far from Home: Memories of World War II and Afterward (2004) [African-American Women]
Hidden Treasure of Black ASL: Its History and Structure (2011)
On the beat of truth: a hearing daughter's stories of her black deaf parents (2013)
Paris in America A Deaf Nanticoke Shoemaker and His Daughter (2018)
Sounds like home: growing up Black and deaf in the South (2019 - Revised edition) [Women]
Unspeakable: the story of Junius Wilson (2007)
March: by/about Women who are D/deaf (also suggest searching on Helen Keller)
Alandra's Lilacs: The Story of a Mother and Her Deaf Daughter (1999)
Alone in the Mainstream: A Deaf Woman Remembers Public School (2004)
Amy Signs: A Mother, Her Deaf Daughter, and Their Stories (2012)
Art of being Deaf: a memoir (2014)
Be Opened! The Church in the United States and Deaf Culture (2021) [Chapter 3])
Building bridges, crossing borders : one young deaf woman's education (2014)
Deaf daughter, hearing father (2005)
Deaf lives in contrast: two women's stories (2008)
Deaf Women's Lives: Three Self-Portraits (2004)
Education of Laura Bridgman: first deaf and blind person to learn language (2001)
Far from Home: Memories of World War II and Afterward (2004) [African-American Women]
Hearing, mother father Deaf: hearing people in Deaf families (2008)
If a tree falls: a family's quest to hear and be heard (2010)
Mean Little Deaf Queer: A Memoir (2009) [Artists, Women, Lesbians]
Mrs. Sigourney of Hartford: poems and prose on the early American deaf community (2013)
My life with kangaroos: a deaf woman's remarkable story (2013)
My Mother Made Me Deaf: Discourse and Identity in a Deaf Community (2017)
On the beat of truth: a hearing daughter's stories of her black deaf parents (2013)
Paris in America A Deaf Nanticoke Shoemaker and His Daughter (2018)
Psychotherapy with Deaf Clients from Diverse Groups (2010)
Shall I Say a Kiss? The Courtship Letters of a Deaf Couple, 1936-1938 [1999]
Sister and Brother: A Family Story (2018) [Fiction]
Sounds like home: growing up Black and deaf in the South (2019 - Revised edition) [Women]
June: by/about LGBTQ+ PRIDE who are D/deaf
Filipino Americans transformation and identity (1997) [Chapters 16 & 17]
Mean Little Deaf Queer: A Memoir (2009)
Novel Bodies Disability and Sexuality in Eighteenth-Century British Literature (2019)
Psychotherapy with Deaf Clients from Diverse Groups (2010)
Queer Crips: Disabled Gay Men and Their Stories (2014)
Queerly Phrased Language, Gender, and Sexuality (1997) [Chapters 3 & 15]
Reinventing identities: the gendered self in discourse (1999) [Chapter 2]
see also the database: LGBTQ+Source (LGBT Life)
October: by/about Indigenous who are D/deaf
Bilingual education in South America (2005)
Contextualising narrative inquiry: developing methodological approaches for local contexts (2013)
Discourse in signed languages (2011) [Part IV]
Interpreting in Multilingual, Multicultural Contexts (2010)
Sign Languages in Village Communities: Anthropological and Linguistic Insights (2012)
International Deaf and Disability Organizations (used with permission from Gallaudet U. Exec. Dir. Dr. Charles Reilly)
IMPORTANT:
Instructors Rebecca Estelle & Lesli Williams require that when students in NMU Deaf Studies courses are paraphrasing information in their papers, etc., they must include the page number. Note that APA Style rule requires page number included when directly quoting.
For example:
When is the word deaf capitalized (Moore & Levitan, 2016, p. 259) ?
Rebecca & Lesli are applying the APA rule which states to include the page number "when it would help interested readers locate the relevant passage within a long or complex work (e.g., a book)."