Nursing: Graduate

This NMU Olson Library guide to graduate Nursing resources was last updated: 9/12/2022

Mike @ Reference

Updated: August 24, 2022 for fall semester

Professor Mike Strahan is generally available for assistance weekday afternoons in the library, and evenings until 9 pm ET via Live Chat or Zoom. However, on Fridays he is not available after 4 pm.

Teaching classes and committee meetings among other professional commitments will affect this schedule.

Assistance is available via Live Chat (see box on right side of this library guide), EduCat Messaging, email or phone (details below my picture).

Professor Strahan is also available via Zoom by Appointment.
Zoom works best for small groups who are working on a project or presentation, where sharing your document while discussing is more-beneficial.  

Students may schedule an appointment with Professor Strahan via live chat, clicking on the "Schedule Appointment" button, through EduCat Messaging, via emailClick here to email Professor Mike Strahan or phone.

For those students who attend classes on-campus, Professor Strahan is available in person at the Public Services desk. No appointment is necessary, just stop by:

Mondays: 1 - 4 pm

Tuesdays: 1 - 4 pm

Fridays on call from his office: 1 - 4 pm


He is also available in his office (Harden Hall 233) afternoons.

Professor Strahan looks forward to helping you with APA style, searching, and questions about Library services.

 

Zotero

(Revised 12/20/2020)

Zotero is a free research manager which helps you collect, organize, and manage your sources. This application works with Google Chrome, FireFox, Microsoft Edge, Opera, & Safari web browsers, and integrates with word processing programs such as MS Word & Google Docs. Zotero facilitates quick in-text citing, and one-click generation of references according to a multitude of styles including APA, MLA, Chicago, Turabian, & journal-specific.

Creating an account on Zotero's website allows you to sync your collections to a central point (300MB free) from multiple computers (such as work & home). It also allows you to create groups. 

Minimum operating system requirements for Zotero version 5.x:

macOS 10.11 or later, including Big Sur and Monterey
Windows 7 or later
Linux

More detailed system requirements available here: https://www.zotero.org/support/system_requirements

The following steps will walk you through how to install Zotero on your browser.

Save documents & close all programs other than web browser before proceeding. This includes your word processor software.

Rationale: In order to finish the installation, Zotero may need to reboot your computer.

Rationale: The Zotero Connector which allows downloading information from the browser into
Zotero only works with these versions of the browser:

Chrome: Version 55 or higher
FireFox: Version 52 or higher
Safari 10–12 (see Safari Compatibility for Safari 13)

 

Firefox
Once you have opened Firefox, you need to check that it is version 52 or higher. To do this, go to 
the menu heading "Help", and select "About Firefox" (see screen shot below). If it says you have a 
lower-numbered version, Mozilla will automatically download & install the latest version of FireFox.

 

Image showing the "about firefox "button

Google Chrome
Once you have opened Chrome, you need to check that it is version 55 or higher. To do this,
go to the upper-right corner and click on three dots (see screen shot below), highlight "Help", and select 
"About Google Chrome". If it says you have a lower-numbered version, Google will automatically 
download & install the latest version of Chrome.

 

Image showing the "about google chrome" menu option in google chrome.

Once you have the latest version of your browser, open it, download Zotero and install the program. The 
download interface automatically recognizes your specific browser and operating system and provides 
the appropriate choice.

If you receive a message preventing this site (www.zotero.org) from installing software on your computer, 
click on the Allow button.

Proceed through the Setup Wizard. When asked about Setup Type (screen below), we recommend choosing Standard. You will be able to customize it later.

Image showing the setup type option on the zotero installer dialogue.

 

Once installed you will be prompted to Reboot your computer (see below). 

Picture showing the reboot option screen of the zotero installer


After you click on Finish, your computer will reboot.

Open your browser & go to the Download page to install the Connector. The download interface 
automatically recognizes your specific browser and operating system, and provides the 
appropriate choice.

 

image of a page linking the zotero connection for google chrome download.

This plugin allows you to create a bibliography, in-text citations, and footnotes or endnotes from within word processing software. 

Note that Zotero version 5.x automatically installs the plugin for Microsoft Word.

Open Microsoft Word, and click on the Zotero tab to display tools:

image showing Zotero's Microsoft word toolbar plugin.


Using Google Docs? No plugin required. Click here for Zotero support documentation.

Using LibreOffice? Click here for plugin.

You do not need to register your Zotero account but you may want to do this at a later date as there are a
number of advantages including the ability to sync your citations to the Zotero site, allowing you to 
access them from any computer at any time.

Modified 2/25/2021

Zotero is a free Web application developed for Firefox, Chrome, & Safari web browsers that allows you to quickly cite in-text and format references in a multitude of styles (APA, MLA, Chicago, Turabian, etc.). Zotero allows you to collect, manage, cite, and share references you've collected for your research.

This guide will walk you through modifying the Preferences tabs screens to configure Zotero.

Important: This guide is intended for users who have just installed Zotero for the first time.

If you already have entries loaded into a past Zotero installation, we recommend you backup your Zotero folder before proceeding, and then after completing customizing, copy your old Zotero folder to a new location on either the Desktop or in Documents.

Please connect to the Internet while configuring Zotero.

If you have not yet downloaded and installed Zotero, please see the Library's Installing Zotero guide for directions with screen shots.

Please Skip this step if your Zotero already contains entries!

 

You need to decide where to save your Zotero files & retrieved articles. We highly recommend saving to either Documents, or to the Desktop (makes it much easier when migrating to a new computer or quickly backing up), so the first step is to create a New folder in that place & name it: Zotero To access the Preferences settings, open Zotero, then click on the Edit menu choice, and select Preferences:

Zotero pereferences page

Advanced tab -- Files and Folders sub-tab

Under Data Directory Location, click on the Choose button and select the newly-created Zotero folder which appears on your Desktop.

Zotero directory selection image

 

Zotero will add the information to the screen similar to above, but with your username.

You will be prompted that it must re-start Zotero.

Modify OpenURL Custom Resolver:

Replace: http://worldcatlibraries.org/registry/gateway

With: https://nmu.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?vid=01NOMICH_INST:NMU&lang=en&mode=advanced

[either copy & paste, or right-click & Copy link address & paste]

OPENurl for Zotero

 

On the General tab you may adjust the User Interface Layout, Font size, & Note font size (recommendations below).

A new feature in Version 5.0 is selecting the Layout (red outline below):

Standard Layout displays a selected entry on the right side of the list of items.

Stacked Layout displays a selected entry underneath the list of items.

All boxes are checked by default.

New to version 5.0.36 are changes to indexing PDFs, which is now automatic--no separate installer needed.

Zotero layout options

 

Only use if you plan on creating an account & using storage on Zotero server for yourself or group work.

Sync is also beneficial if you are using multiple computers (e.g., work & home) to manage sources.

Enter the username & password used when you created account on Zotero web site.

Note that Sync does not replace making regular backups of your local Zotero files, and cannot be used to restore your Zotero files if your hard drive is damaged or requires re-imaging

Image of sync option

PDF Indexing is a feature which allows you to drag-and-drop previously downloaded pdf files into Zotero, and then have it search for metadata on that file & create an entry for you.

As Zotero facilitates creating your own "library" of sources, enabling PDF Indexing will include those sources when searching within Zotero.

Beginning with Zotero version 5.0.36, this screen shows indexing statistics.

This is another area where you should set the Default style you will use. Note that you may always change the default. Under the Default Output Format, click on the drop arrow to change style.

Image of zotero default format preferences

 

There are over 9,000 citation styles available for Zotero including many styles based on individual journal titles. Zotero only comes configured with the more popular styles but you may add any of the other styles while inside of Zotero.

After clicking on the Cite tab, click on the Styles sub-tab.

Next, locate the style from the list & click on it to select.If you do not see your specific style, click on the Get additional styles... link (see screen shot below) which will open the Zotero Style Repository, and search for your style. Left-click on the style name to select, which will then load that template into Zotero.

Zotero get additional styles button

Citation Options - Real important especially for APA, MLA, & Chicago styles

Check the box next to the label: Include URLs of paper articles in references.

 Zotero include URLs in citation

It is highly recommended using the classic insert citation interface. So on the Word Processors sub-tab, 
check the box next to the label: Use classic Add Citation dialog

image of word processors options in Zotero

Important: You MUST click the OK button to save all changes.

You are now ready to use Zotero.

As with most things, Zotero is not perfect. Always check your citations for accuracy. Zotero will not correct data or capitalized titles for instance. Be sure to check the data for each citation. You can always edit the citations in Zotero.

ANA Code of Ethics for Nurses with Interpretive Statements (2015)

APA style 6th edition Reference Example for the Code:

American Nurses Association. (2015). Code of ethics for nurses with interpretive statements

        Retrieved from https://www.nursingworld.org/coe-view-only

 

APA style 7th edition Reference Example for the Code:

American Nurses Association. (2015). Code of ethics for nurses with interpretive statements

        https://www.nursingworld.org/coe-view-only

(2017 & 2019) NANDA International Nursing Diagnoses Definitions & Classification, 2018-2020; and Supplement (on Reserves in the library--ask at Desk)

MSN's - If not in Marquette area, consider requesting another copy or section through MeLCat


(2017) ECG Interpretation Made Incredibly Easy!: Pocket Guide

Journals, books, and other resources on subjects including nursing, emergency services, nutrition, occupational therapy, physical therapy, optometry, public health, speech-language pathology & audiology, and surgical technology. 1937 to present.

Journal articles covering biomedical research and the clinical sciences including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health, and pre-clinical sciences. Also good coverage of literature in cellular and molecular biology and biochemistry. Formerly known as MEDLINE. Mid 1960's to present.

Access note: Must use this special URL for NMU Logo links to appear in article abstracts

 

Journals, books, and other resources covering psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including: anthropology, business, education, law, linguistics, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, physiology, and sociology. 1805 to present.

Journal articles, books, and other resources across many subjects. Provides a "cited by" feature to indicate other papers containing a source paper as a reference.

To access Google Scholar through a non-NMU internet provider, please use the VPN client: Cisco AnyConnect. For those using an NMU-issued computer, AnyConnect is already installed. For those using a personal computer, you download & install AnyConnect using the information on this library guide.

Journal articles, books, and other resources on all aspects of sociology and related disciplines. Subjects include demography, environmental interactions, family and social welfare, social psychology, human biology, women's studies, health, medicine, law, etc. 1952 to present; abstracts since 1974.

Anatomy TV contains rotatable 3D models of the human body and anatomical layers which may be stripped away. Also included are common pathologies, radiological content, and interactive quizzes.

Journal articles, books, and other resources relating to education--from early childhood to higher education. Views 'education' very broadly and covers areas such as outdoor education, corporate training, speech language therapy, etc. 1966 to present.

Provides access to a variety of legal information, including federal and state case law, the United States Code Annotated, the Code of Federal Regulations, the Federal Register, state statutes and administrative codes, and more. Also included are 900 law journals and reviews.

 

Instructional Videos

HCUPnet: Healthcare Cost & Utilization Project (extensive stats!)

American Hospital Directory (many search options including specialized services)

America's Best Hospitals (rankings by U.S. News & World Report)

Local through International Statistics Resources (includes Marquette County, state of Michigan, Federal, etc.)

 AORN Safety Videos
Energy-Generating Devices: Safety Precautions
Radiation Safety in Perioperative Practice
 

JoMI is a streaming library of complete teaching videos of surgical procedures. Narrated by surgeon(s) performing procedure; filmed at teaching hospitals worldwide. Main Text includes abstract, case overview (imaging, exam, tests, treatment options), discussion, equipment, and citations. Also included: procedure outline, transcript, and related articles. May search/browse by keyword or specialties. Recommend creating an account to access from any device.

 

JoVE is a streaming library of scientific video journal articles dedicated to teaching scientific fundamentals through easy-to-understand demonstrations. Instructor tools include suggestions for how to use in the classroom, and create video-specific tests. Audio and transcripts available in English, Chinese, French, German, Japanese, and Spanish languages. Closed Captioning in English, Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, and Turkish languages.

JoVE Neuroscience Videos
Some of the Neuroscience group videos are: Introduction to Neurophysiology, Calcium Imaging in Neurons, and Introduction to Neuroanatomy.

JoVE Psychology Videos
The Psychology group includes the following sections: Behavioral Science, Experimental Psychology, Cognitive Psychology, Developmental Psychology, Neuropsychology, Sensation & Perception, and Social Psychology.

JoVE Clinical Skills Videos
The Clinical Skills group includes the following sections: Physical Examination I, II, & III, Emergency Medicine & Critical Care, and Nursing Skills.

 

Access over 70,000 videos with unlimited/simultaneous access across a wide range of subjects, platform includes 360/VR functionality.

 

Institute for Healthcare Improvement (open access) 

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) 

AHRQ Evidence-based Practice Centers Reports

Star Model Thorough website from the U. of TX Academic Center for Evidence-based Nursing.

 

   MeLCat

  • The fastest way to borrow something not available at NMU.
  • Recommended for books, DVDs, CDs

    Interlibrary Loan

  • The best option for articles or book chapters.
  • Can't find the materials you need at NMU Collection or MelCat?
  • Submit an Interlibrary Loan request and we'll search libraries around the world.

DSM-5

This NMU library guide revised 9/12/2022
 

Access NMU Library License to Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th ed. (DSM-5) (2013)


Access NMU Library License to Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th ed., Text Revision (DSM-5-TR) (2022)

 

How to cite using APA style 7th edition


APA Reference of entire work:

American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders

        (5th ed.). https://doi.org/10.1176/appi.books.9780890425596


How to cite this work in-text:
Parenthetical: (American Psychiatric Association, 2013)
Narrative: American Psychiatric Association (2013)

 

APA Reference formats of DSM-5, citing specific chapter (each assigned DOI):

American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Anxiety disorders. In Diagnostic and statistical manual

        of mental disorders (5th ed.). https://doi.org/10.1176/appi.books.9780890425596.dsm05


How to cite this work in-text:
Parenthetical: (American Psychiatric Association, 2013)
Narrative: There are a variety of anxiety disorders discussed in the American Psychiatric Association's (2013)   Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (5th ed.; DSM-5).
Direct quote: (American Psychiatric Association, 2013, Panic Disorder section, para. 2)


APA Reference of entire work:

American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders

        (5th ed.). https://doi.org/10.1176/appi.books.9780890425596


How to cite this work in-text:
Parenthetical: (American Psychiatric Association, 2013)
Narrative: American Psychiatric Association (2013)

 

How to cite using APA style 6th edition
 

APA Reference formats of DSM-5, citing specific chapter (each assigned DOI):

American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Anxiety disorders. In Diagnostic and statistical manual

        of mental disorders (5th ed.). Retrieved from https://doi.org/10.1176

        /appi.books.9780890425596.dsm05


APA Reference of entire work:

American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders

        (5th ed.). Retrieved from https://doi.org/10.1176/appi.books.9780890425596

OneSearch (advanced search screen)
Use this link to access the advanced search screen, where users may indicate which fields to search (e.g., title, author, or subject) instead of everything. Also allows the searcher to set some limits (online or print books, language, and publication years) before running the search.

Over 135,000 ebooks for students at all levels - from undergrad to post-doctoral research - and including topics across all disciplines. Over 1,000 new titles added each year.

Offering more than 170,000 e-books, this collection of multidisciplinary eBooks includes titles from leading university presses and academic publishers. Brought to you by the Library of Michigan via the Michigan eLibrary (https://mel.org).

The Michigan eLibrary Catalog (MeLCat) is a catalog of the books, audios, and videos from approximately 450 Michigan libraries that you can borrow and request for pick-up at Olson Library. Use MeLCat to quickly request items not owned by NMU or NMU-owned items checked out to another user.

Note: Students living beyond the Marquette area (driving to pick up books) should use their local public library card, not NMU ID.

 

 

Theses & Dissertations

Updated: April 18, 2021

The largest database of graduate dissertations and theses. Almost 5 million citations and over 2.6 million full-text works. Useful for literature reviews, in-depth scholarship and extensive bibliographies with citation links. Indexing 1637 to present; full-text 1743 to present. 

Notes:

  1. This new subscription is THE database which holds online access to millions of dissertations & theses worldwide in PDF format. It is provided by NMU Olson Library. As such, the NMU community now has free access these works from all institutions which submit these works to ProQuest.
  2. When viewing results: 
  • Full text - PDF is the complete thesis/dissertation.
  • Preview - PDF is only 24-page preview.

 

Open Access through digital institutional repositories at other universities *full text
By going through NMU's institutional repository The Commons, you may access dissertations, theses, and other scholarly products. 
After clicking on this link, click on Advanced Search:

The Commons Advanced Search button

then change the "Limit Search to" field to All Repositories:

limit to all repositories

and then enter your search terms. Click on the green + sign to add a line.

 

Theses Canada
Contain print and electronic Canadian theses and dissertations. Multiple search options are available.

 

Print and Electronic Theses *some full text
OneSearch contains print and electronic theses for NMU. You have two options for locating theses. One is to browse by subject area. The other is to perform a keyword search where you can combine the term thesis with an author's name, keyword term (e.g. nursing) and limit the search to the "Library catalog."

Electronic Theses Only [Fall 2006 - 2013] *full text 
NMU electronic theses are also contained in Proquest's  Dissertations & Theses @ Northern Michigan University database. This is NMU's subset of the larger Dissertations & Theses database, and allows searching & viewing of NMU theses. Although you cannot browse, you can search by: title words, advisor, subjects (author assigned), and keywords (author assigned). You may also search by department/program using the Field Code DEP
followed in parentheses by the department/program name. For example, in order to see a list of theses from the Exercise Science program:  DEP(exercise science)
Alternatively, you can search using your own keywords.

NMU Theses [2014-present] *full text
NMU electronic theses are provided in The Commons, Northern's institutional repository. You may browse by department and may search by author & keywords.
Note that the School of Nursing Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) Scholarly Projects are also located in The Commons.

DNP Projects are usually not provided through dissertation resources, so we offer Nursing-specific sources below:

NMU Digital Commons Nursing Commons (also includes articles) *free full text
This Nursing Commons contains journal articles, presentations, as well as student work. Most of it is full text but occasionally the member library only inputs abstracts... but still it is another resource for finding student works at all levels of education.

Sigma Theta Tau International Virginia Henderson Library (includes DNP Capstone Projects) *free full text
Repository of of nursing capstones, master theses, and some dissertations. It is an excellent, high quality free resource.

   MeLCat

  • The fastest way to borrow something not available at NMU.
  • Recommended for books, DVDs, CDs

    Interlibrary Loan

  • The best option for articles or book chapters.
  • Can't find the materials you need at NMU Collection or MelCat?
  • Submit an Interlibrary Loan request and we'll search libraries around the world.

NMU Digital Commons Nursing Commons (also includes articles) *free full text
This Nursing Commons contains journal articles, presentations, as well as student work. Most of it is full text but occasionally the member library only inputs abstracts... but still it is another resource for finding student works at all levels of education.

Sigma Theta Tau International Virginia Henderson Library *free full text
Repository of of nursing capstones, master theses, and some dissertations. It is an excellent, high quality free resource.

Ask Us
Feedback