Today's hours Noon — Midnight

Doors are locked 15 minutes before closing.

Biology

Birds of North America Online
Provides detailed scientific information for each of the 716 species of birds nesting in the USA and Canada. Account contents are updated frequently, with online-coordinated contributions from researchers, citizen scientists, and designated reviewers and editors.

Mammalian Species (accounts 1-787) ; (accounts 632-current)
Mammalian Species is published by the American Society of Mammalogists with 25-35 individual species accounts issued each year. Each uniform account summarizes the current understanding of the biology of an individual species including systematics, distribution, fossil history, genetics, anatomy, physiology, behavior, ecology, and conservation. Virginia Hayssen has put out an index for species accounts 1-848 (as of 9/7/13 there are 900 accounts).

OneSearch *new 2011 *full text 
Comprehensive search index. Searches numerous sources and databases, including the library catalog. All topics covered.

Journal articles covering biomedical research and the clinical sciences including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health, and pre-clinical sciences. Also good coverage of literature in cellular and molecular biology and biochemistry. Formerly known as MEDLINE. Mid 1960's to present.

Complete, searchable, full text articles from over 2,100 core scholarly journals. 1878 to the most recent 1-5 years (varies by title).

Google Scholar

Journal articles, books, and other resources across many subjects. Provides a "cited by" feature to indicate other papers containing a source paper as a reference.

Supporting Databases

Agricola
Multidisciplinary index reflecting the contents of the National Agricultural Library and other agricultural and scientific institutions. Covers all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, agricultural economics, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences. References to articles in journals and magazines, books, book chapters, theses, patents, computer software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports. Dates of coverage from 1970 to present.

BioOne *full text
69+ full-text journals published by small societies and non-commercial publishers. Journals tend to emphasize plant, animal, and ecological research. For searching the full text of the articles use this link.

Journal Title Abbreviations
A service provided by the California Institute of Technology's Library System.

Ask Us
Feedback