Today's hours Noon — Midnight

Doors are locked 15 minutes before closing.

Theses & Dissertations

Print and Electronic Theses *some full text
The library catalog contains print and electronic theses for NMU, and a few from Finlandia University. You have two options for locating theses. One is to browse by subject area. The other is to use the Guided Search screen, where you can combine the term thesis with an author's name, keyword term (e.g. nursing), etc.

Electronic Theses Only [Fall 2006 - 2013] *full text 
NMU electronic theses are also contained in Proquest's Dissertations and Theses database. Since the library does not subscribe to the entire database, we can only search and view NMU theses. You cannot browse by department, but there are capabilities for locating theses by advisor, subjects (author assigned), and keywords (author assigned). Alternatively, you can search using your own keywords.

NMU Theses [2014-present] *full text
NMU electronic theses are provided in The Commons, Northern's institutional repository. You may browse by department and may search by author & keywords.
Note that the School of Nursing Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) Scholarly Projects are also located in The Commons.

 

ProQuest Central brings together databases across major subject areas including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, and Philosophy. Also includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.

  • When searching ProQuest Central, limit to Document type: Dissertation/Thesis
     
  • When viewing results: 
    Preview - PDF is only 24-page preview.
    Full text - PDF is the complete thesis/dissertation.

PQDT Open 
Is a repository of entire PDF full-text open access dissertations and theses submitted to UMI ProQuest. Although few (< 20) open access were published between 1970-1999, over 13,000 are dated 2000 to present. There are multiple search options. Note: not all theses/dissertations from any specific institution are available here, but only those where the author chose to publish as open access.

OpenDOAR 
Is primarily a service to enhance and support the academic and research activities of the global community. OpenDOAR maintains a comprehensive and authoritative list of institutional and subject-based repositories. Because more than theses or dissertations are found here, use either term (thesis or dissertation) when you search along with the subject.

Theses Canada Portal 
Contain print and electronic Canadian theses and dissertations. Most of the electronic documents are after 1998. Multiple search options are available.


Freely available or purchase your own copy ($38 instant download)

Dissertation Express indexes dissertations and master's theses published 1861 - present. Search by keyword, author, title, or UMI publication number. Note: results are limited to 40 titles at a time, and do not contain abstracts. Does indicate Open Access (free PDFs), but unable to limit search to these. Users may order PDF, paper, or microfilm copy for a fee.


Index-only (may or may not be available online for free) 

Borrow print version through ILL using "Get this for me" link

Journal articles, newspapers, and reports covering all aspects of business. Direct company link to Hoover's company information & analysis. 1971 to present.

Journal articles, books, and other resources relating to education--from early childhood to higher education. Views 'education' very broadly and covers areas such as outdoor education, corporate training, speech language therapy, etc. 1966 to present.

Google Scholar

Journal articles, books, and other resources across many subjects. Provides a "cited by" feature to indicate other papers containing a source paper as a reference.

 

Journals, books, and other resources on subjects including nursing, emergency services, nutrition, occupational therapy, physical therapy, optometry, public health, speech-language pathology & audiology, and surgical technology. 1937 to present.

  • Limit to Source Type: Dissertations

 

 

 

 

   MeLCat

  • The fastest way to borrow something not available at NMU.
  • Recommended for books, DVDs, CDs

    Interlibrary Loan

  • The best option for articles or book chapters.
  • Can't find the materials you need at NMU Collection or MelCat?
  • Submit an Interlibrary Loan request and we'll search libraries around the world.
Ask Us
Feedback