arXiv Physics
An open access repository of electronic preprints approved for posting after moderation, but not full peer review. It consists of scientific papers in the fields of mathematics, physics, astronomy, electrical engineering, computer science, etc. In many fields of mathematics and physics, almost all scientific papers are self-archived on the arXiv repository.
Astrophysics Data System (ADS)
A database for research in Astronomy and Physics, offered by Harvard University. If you are off campus, not using NMU internet, you will want to use Cisco AnyConnect (on NMU's IT site) to access full text articles available from NMU.
Journal articles, books, and other resources across many subjects. Provides a "cited by" feature to indicate other papers containing a source paper as a reference.
Google Scholar - "Invalid Domain for Site Key" Error
In an effort to optimize user experience during peak activity, Google Scholar may prompt Northern Michigan University patrons to complete a reCAPTCHA widget to verify their non-robot status. Unfortunately, a security glitch in Google's widget may result in an "Invalid domain for site key" error for patrons accessing the Library's off-campus proxy server.
Workaround:
If you possess a Google Account, you can integrate it with the Library using the following steps:
- Visit the un-proxied version of Google Scholar at https://scholar.google.com.
- Click the "Sign In" button and log in with your NMU account (xxxx@nmu.edu).
- From the menu icon (three bars at the top left), select "Settings," then choose "Library Links."
- In the Library Links section of the Settings menu, confirm that "Northern Michigan University - Get it@NMU," is selected.
- If it is not already selected, search for Northern Michigan University in the search bar. Then, select the checkbox next to "Northern Michigan University - Get it@NMU," click the "Save" button in the lower right.
Once saved, you can return to the Google Scholar homepage. You should now be able to explore Google Scholar without utilizing NMU's off-campus proxy, while still having access to the "Get it@NMU" links directing you to our full-text databases.
If the provided workaround does not resolve your Google Scholar access issues, we recommend patience, as Google typically resets the faulty reCAPTCHA requirement after approximately 24 hours.
Inspire
High energy physics literature. If you are off campus, not using NMU internet, you will want to use Cisco AnyConnect (on NMU's IT site) to access full text articles available from NMU.
The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System
Contains over 12.8 million records in astronomy and astrophysics, physics, and the arXiv-e-prints. Abstracts and full-text of major astronomy and physics publications are indexed. Also provides links to astronomical object information, data catalogs and data sets hosted by external archives.
NTRS: NASA Technical Reports Server
Provides access to NASA's technical literature, literature from the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics (NACA), the NASA Image Exchange, etc.
OSTI.gov
The primary search tool for Department of Energy (DOE) funded science, technology, and engineering research and development (R&D) results and the organizational hub for information about the DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI).
Physics - A Guide to Web Resources
Created by Michael Knee of University at Albany, State University of New York, which is an excellent guide to the best the web has to offer for physics.
Alsos Digital Library for Nuclear Issues
Site closed August 19, 2019 due to security issues. They are working to make the content available sometime in the future.
An annotated bibliography of over 3,000 books, articles, films, CDs, and websites about a broad range of nuclear issues.