This Library guide to Education Undergraduate-level Resources was last updated: 3/13/2024
Mike @ Reference
Updated: March 13, 2024 for winter 2024 semester of library renovation
Professor Mike Strahan is generally available for assistance weekday afternoons 1pm - 4pm ET, & evenings 8pm - 11 pm ET via live chat, email, & zoom.
Assistance is available via Live Chat (see box on right side of this library guide & his other library guides), EduCat Messaging, email or phone (906-227-2463).
Professor Strahan is also available via Zoom by Appointment (including groups).
Students may schedule an appointment with Professor Strahan via live chat, clicking on the "Schedule Appointment" button, through EduCat Messaging, phone, or via email: Click here to email Professor Mike Strahan
For those students who attend classes on-campus or visit campus, Professor Strahan is available in person:
Mondays: 1 - 4 pm @ Reference in Jamrich Hall lobbies (look for green sign)
Tuesdays: 1 - 5pm in office (Library in Gries ground floor)
Wednesdays: 1 - 3pm @ Reference in Whitman Room 179 (Dept. of Education office--see arrow below). Look for green sign.
Wednesdays: 3 - 4pm Reference in The Science Building Room 1540A (go through Hearing Clinic across from SLH Office Room 1513), & 4 - 5pm (office hour) in Room 1540A. Look for green signs.
Thursdays: usually not available afternoons, but available Thursday evenings online.
Fridays: 2 - 4 pm in office (Library in Gries ground floor)
Please note: Library instruction & committee meetings may affect the above daytime schedule.
Professor Strahan looks forward to helping you with APA style, searching, and questions about Library services.
NMU Library guide to ASL and other Deaf Studies ebooks & resources
Below are three 2022 how-to search videos created for ED 306 students working on the class project to help Clare Lutgen, Executive Director of Bay Cliff Health Camp in Big Bay, MI. All focus on children's books about camps/camping for children living with disabilities.
Below the videos are links to access the NMU Library Catalog, MeLCat, and WorldCat.
Searching OneSearch for children's books held in Olson Library (and also find their reviews)
Searching MeLCat for children's books available through Michigan libraries
Searching WorldCat for children's books through libraries worldwide
Links to library catalogs:
Barstow, Barbara.
Beyond Picture Books: a guide to first readers
Pre-K -12 Collection (Non-Fiction) 011.62 B278
Bingham, Jane M.
Writers for children : critical studies of major authors since the seventeenth century
NMU Books (Library upper floor) PN 1009 .A1 W73 1988
Cianciolo, Patricia Jean
Informational Picture Books for Children
NMU Books (Library upper floor) Z 1037.A1 C54 2000
Homa, Linda L.
Elementary school library collection.
NMU Books (Library upper floor) PN 1009 .A1 .E53
(latest ed. is 2000)
Lima, Carolyn W.
A to Zoo: subject access to children's picture books, 6th ed.
Pre-K -12 Collection (Non-Fiction) 011.62 L715
National Council of Teachers of English
Adventuring with Books: a booklist for pre-K - grade 6.
NMU Pre-K -12 Collection (Non-Fiction) 011.62 A29
(2002)
National Council of Teachers of English
Books for You: a booklist for senior high.
NMU Pre-K -12 Collection (Non-Fiction) 011.625 B73
additional copy: NMU Books (Library upper floor) PN 1009 .A1 B6
National Council of Teachers of English
High Interest Easy Reading for Middle and Senior High School Students.
Pre-K -12 Collection (Non-Fiction) 028.535 N4
(1996)
National Council of Teachers of English
Your Reading: a list for junior high schools.
Pre-K -12 Collection (Non-Fiction) 028.5 Y69
Paulin, Mary Ann
Creative Uses of Childrens' Literature
NMU Books (Library upper floor) PN 1009 .A1 P33
Paulin, Mary Ann
More Creative Uses of Childrens' Literature
NMU Books (Library upper floor) PN 1009 .A1 P33 1992
Rasinski, Timothy V. and Cindy S. Gillespie
Sensitive Issues: an annotated guide to children's literature K-6.
NMU Books (Library upper floor) PN 1009 .AS1 R23 1992
Shapiro, Lillian L. and Barbara L. Stein
Fiction for Youth: a guide to recommended books.
NMU Books (Library upper floor) PN 1009 .A1 F44 1992
Sutherland, Zena et. al.
The Best in Children's Books: the University of Chicago guide to children's literature.
NMU Books (Library upper floor) PN 1009 .A1 S96 1991
Carle, Eric
Artist to artist: 23 major illustrators talk to children about their art
NMU Pre-K -12 Collection (Non-Fiction) 741.6 A77
Holtze, Sally Holmes
Junior Authors and Illustrators
PN 1009 .A1 S3936
(vol. 7, 1996)
Kirkpatrick, D. L.
Twentieth Century Children's Writers
PN 1009 .A1 T9 1978
McElmeel, Sharron L.
100 most popular picture book authors and illustrators: biographical sketches and bibliographies
Reading is Fundamental
The art of reading: forty illustrators celebrate RIF's 40th Anniversary
NMU Pre-K -12 Collection (Non-Fiction) 741.6 R32
Simon, Howard
500 years of illustration: from Albrecht Dürer to Rockwell Kent (2011)
Theodor SEUSS Geisel: Theodor Geisel (2010)
Horn Book
Contains critical reviews of children's books. May search by book title, keyword, etc.
The Horn Book Guide to Children's and Young Adult Books (2000-2018)
Published semi-annually, groups books by categories. Includes excerpts of reviews published in Horn Book.
Children's Literature Web Guide
A guide to Internet resources related to books for children and teens. Includes links to discussion groups; best books and awards lists; authors; stories; journals; parent, teacher, storyteller, writer, and illustrator resources; and more. From David K. Brown of the Doucette Library of Teaching Resources, University of Calgary, Alberta, Canada.
Children's Literature Review (print version 1976 through 2007)
NMU Pre-K-12 Collection (Non-Fiction) 028.5 C5139
First opinions, second reactions
(2008-present)
School Library Journal
(1974-present)
Writers for Children
PN 1009 .A1 W73
(1988)
Steps on how to search for book reviews using OneSearch
Click here to access OneSearch Advanced screen
Change first line field to Title
Enter title of book
Change second line field to Subject
Enter the phrase: book reviews
Click on Search button
Here are the results:
Suggest limiting to Available online
Since the sources below are provided through MeL, you will be prompted to login.
Literary Reference Center
Covers information on thousands of authors and their works. Topics include: plot summaries, literary criticism, book reviews, novels, and author interviews.
Novelist K-8 Plus
Find just the right book by subject, age, awards won, books made into movies, and much more. Read reviews and learn about the author. Create your own reading wish list. Includes tools for teachers such as Lexile levels and Common Core standards.
Novelist Plus
Features lists of award-winning books, book discussion guides, Read-a-Like recommendations, and complete series information. Also includes reader ratings and reviews.
Masterfile Complete
Broad collection of popular full-text magazines and reference books.
Full reviews are by subscription, but reviews as part of book awards are free & well-written.
APA style 7th edition allows us to better highlight contributions made by individuals, such as illustrators. Here is a reference & in-text citation examples for the well-know children's book Goodnight Moon :
Illustrated children's book without a DOI, including author & illustrator, from academic research database or print version. Note that many of these books do not have page numbers, so cite direct quote using section (if provided) and paragraph number. Recommendation: if no section names, count paragraphs from beginning of book.
- Brown, M. W., & Hurd, C. (Illus.). (1947). Goodnight moon. Harper.
How to cite this work in-text:
Parenthetical: (Brown & Hurd, 1947)
Narrative: Brown and Hurd (1947)
Direct quote: There are many things in the room, including "a telephone and a red balloon" (Brown & Hurd, 1947, para. 1)
First example is for the entire entry in Children's Literature Review. When entry authors are not indicated, place the entry title in the author position.
- Janell Cannon (1957-). (2007). In T. Burns (Ed.), Children's Literature Review (Vol. 120, pp. 1-14). Thompson Gale.
How to cite this work in-text:
Parenthetical: ("Janell Cannon (1957-)," 2007)
Narrative: "Janell Cannon (1957-)," (2007)
Direct quote: "Cannon has been almost universally praised for her illustrative talent and attention to detail" ("Janell Cannon (1957-)," 2007, p. 2)
Second example is for a review in an entry which was reprinted from a journal article. Provide authors of the reprinted article, year of the book, title of the article, and then entry information. Place additional information for the reprinted version within parentheses (even if it is duplicated). For in-text citation, include both original year of publication, and year of source where reprinted.
- Saccardi, M. (2007). Review of Stellaluna, by Janell Cannon. In T. Burns (Ed.), Children's Literature Review (Vol. 120, pp. 1-14). Thompson Gale. (Reprinted from "Review of Stellaluna, by Janell Cannon," 1993, School Library Journal, 39(6), 70.)
How to cite this work in-text:
Parenthetical: (Saccardi, 1993/2007)
Narrative: Saccardi (1993/2007)
Direct quote: (Saccardi, 1993/2007, p. 3)
Prefer watching the video on How-to Find Books & Reviews created 2/18/22 ? Click here
1. Click here to use the ** NEW ** Direct Advanced Library Catalog screen in OneSearch
2. On the first line, enter a topic.
3. For the second line, using the table below, highlight/copy the appropriate Age phrase entry (including quotation marks) and paste into search line:
| Grade | Age Phrase |
| Up to Kindergarten | "Ages 2-5" |
| 1st through 3rd | "Ages 6-8" |
| 4th through 7th | "Ages 9-12" |
| 8th and up | "Ages 13 and up" |
4. Click on Search button.
Below is a sample screenshot showing how to search for science books written towards preschoolers:
Pre-K-12 Collection is located on the left side of the Library's Main Floor (top-right on this map)
A to Z practical guide to emotional and behavioural difficulties (2012)
A-Z of school health (UK, 2003)
Concise encyclopedia of educational linguistics (1999) 1 person at a time
Concise encyclopedia of special education (2002; updated abridged version of 2000 ed.)
Dictionary of education (Dewey, 1959)
Dictionary of multicultural education (1997)
Encyclopedia of Education (2003, 8 vols.)
Encyclopedia of middle grades education (2016)
Encyclopedia of multicultural education (1999)
Historical dictionary of American education (1999)
Historical dictionary of women's education in the United States (1998)
New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture: Volume 17: Education (2011)
Search for articles, reports, books, videos, etc.
New 2020 OneSearch (advanced search screen)
Use this link to access the advanced search screen, where users may indicate which fields to search (e.g., title, author, or subject) instead of everything. Also allows the searcher to set some limits (material type such as books or journals, language, and publication years) before running the search.
Note that SAGE is the primary publisher of Education journals. Fully searchable through link above.
Journal articles, books, and other resources across many subjects. Provides a "cited by" feature to indicate other papers containing a source paper as a reference.
Google Scholar - "Invalid Domain for Site Key" Error
In an effort to optimize user experience during peak activity, Google Scholar may prompt Northern Michigan University patrons to complete a reCAPTCHA widget to verify their non-robot status. Unfortunately, a security glitch in Google's widget may result in an "Invalid domain for site key" error for patrons accessing the Library's off-campus proxy server.
Workaround:
If you possess a Google Account, you can integrate it with the Library using the following steps:
- Visit the un-proxied version of Google Scholar at https://scholar.google.com.
- Click the "Sign In" button and log in with your NMU account (xxxx@nmu.edu).
- From the menu icon (three bars at the top left), select "Settings," then choose "Library Links."
- In the Library Links section of the Settings menu, confirm that "Northern Michigan University - Get it@NMU," is selected.
- If it is not already selected, search for Northern Michigan University in the search bar. Then, select the checkbox next to "Northern Michigan University - Get it@NMU," click the "Save" button in the lower right.
Once saved, you can return to the Google Scholar homepage. You should now be able to explore Google Scholar without utilizing NMU's off-campus proxy, while still having access to the "Get it@NMU" links directing you to our full-text databases.
If the provided workaround does not resolve your Google Scholar access issues, we recommend patience, as Google typically resets the faulty reCAPTCHA requirement after approximately 24 hours.
Children's Picture Book Database @ Miami University
This database offers abstracts for thousands of children's picture books (preschool to grade three), suitable for teachers, librarians, and others who design interdisciplinary curricula for elementary schools and library programs. Major categories include Literature, Language and Communications, Mathematics, Health and Medicine, Natural History and Natural Science, Social Studies, and Visual and Performing Arts.
Children's Literature Web Guide
A guide to Internet resources related to books for children and teens. Includes links to discussion groups; best books and awards lists; authors; stories; journals; parent, teacher, storyteller, writer, and illustrator resources; and more. From David K. Brown of the Doucette Library of Teaching Resources, University of Calgary, Alberta, Canada.
The Horn Book website (not publication)
"Publications about books for children and young adults."
Number of resources including Virtual History Exhibit in honor of the 75th Anniversary of The Horn Book, the premier magazine of children's literature. Also includes breadth of other resources for teachers.
Locally, the Superiorland Preview Center believes that "Providing children with quality up-to-date literature is an essential first step in the literacy process. Professionals and parents need access to the newest books to share with children as well as need to have the skills to evaluate these books. The Superiorland Library Preview Center will provide children's books, workshops on how to evaluate and review them, and distribute those reviews."
NMU Olson Library Guide to Evaluating Internet Sources
NMU Olson Library Guide to Fake News Information
Test your students using this website: dhmo.org
encyclopedia.com - "search over 200 encyclopedias and reference books"
TeacherTube (oriented towards teachers & parents) [not affiliated with YouTube]
Ben's Guide to the U.S. Government (Websites for Kids) Created & managed by the U.S. Government Printing Office. Includes Learning adventures by age group, glossary, and games.
Note: Below each link to access the video, is the specific APA Style 7th edition Reference for that video. APA rules are to indicate director name in author position, and production company in publisher (in Zotero place this in Distributor field).
FIXED: The Science/Fiction of Human Enhancement (2013) Regan P. Brashear (Director)
Brashear, R. P. (Director). (2013). Fixed: The science/fiction of human enhancement [Film; documentary]. Making
Change Media.
Most Likely to Succeed (2015) Greg Whiteley (Director)
Whiteley, G. (Director). (2015). Most likely to succeed [Film; documentary]. One Potato Productions.
Touch of greatness: a portrait of a maverick teacher (2004) Leslie Sullivan (Director)
Sullivan, L. (Director). (2004). Touch of greatness: A portrait of a maverick teacher [Film; documentary]. Aubin
Pictures.
Waiting for Superman (2010) Davis Guggenheim (Director) streaming subscription was not renewed for fall 2023.
However, DVD is available in the library at this call number: Media LA 212 .W35 2011
Guggenheim, D. (Director). (2010). Waiting for “Superman” [Film; documentary]. Electric Kinney Films.
Catalyst in action: case studies of high-impact ePortfolio practice (2018)
Digital portfolios in the classroom : showcasing and assessing student work (2017)
High impact ePortfolio practice: a catalyst for student, faculty, and institutional learning (2017)
Handbook on teacher portfolios for evaluation and professional development (2013)
Mahara ePortfolios: beginner's guide (2012)
Differentiated assessment: how to assess the learning potential of every student (c2011)
Eportfolios for lifelong learning and assessment (2010)
Evaluating Electronic Portfolios in Teacher Education (2009)
The portfolio connection: student work linked to standards (2008)
The portfolio organizer: succeeding with portfolios in your classroom (2000)
Capturing the wisdom of practice: professional portfolios for educators (1999)
EdSitement
A joint project of the National Endowment for the Humanities, the Council of Great City Schools, and others, this site is "a constantly growing collection of the most valuable online resources for teaching English, history, art history, and foreign languages." Includes lesson plans.
Educational Resources & Lesson Plans
Developed by Edmund Sass for use by his students in the education program at College of Saint Benedict/ St. John's University (Minnesota), this extensive list of resources is organized by subject area and by user group need (e.g., resources for students, resources for teachers, etc.). Over 1,000 links are provided, many with brief annotations describing the site contents.
The Educator's Reference Desk drawn from the ERIC database, it includes resource guides, lesson plans and a question archive.
Read, Write, Think
Sponsored by the International Reading Association and the National Council of Teachers of English, this site promises "access to the highest quality practices and resources in reading and language arts education." Includes links to standards and recommended Web sites, as well as to lesson plans.
Many, many more sources for lesson plans exist, and can be found by typing your criteria into Google.
How to APA Style 7th edition cite the Michigan Revised School Code (1976)
Prepared by Prof. Mike Strahan; endorsed by Dr. Bethney Bergh
rev. 3/13/2020
Adapting the State Statute in State Code example which appears in the APA Manual, 7th ed., p. 363.
Information as it appears online from the State of Michigan Legislative Council:
380.1280a Specialized or alternative school or program.
Sec. 1280a.
The board of a school district or intermediate school district that operates or participates in a consortium
that operates an alternative educational program pursuant to section 1301, a vocational-technical skills
center or other separate vocational education program, or any other type of specialized or alternative
school or program shall ensure that the requirements of sections 1204a, 1277a, 1278, and 1280 are met
for each of those schools or programs.
History: Add. 1993, Act 335, Imd. Eff. Dec. 31, 1993
Popular Name: Act 451
APA Reference example:
Michigan Revised School Code Act, 451 M.C.L. §380.1280a (1976 & 1993).
APA In-text citation examples:
(Michigan Revised School Code Act, 1976 & 1993)
Michigan Revised School Code Act of 1976 and 1993
Michigan Revised School Code Act (1976 & 1993)
Notes:
- All of your references from the Revised School Code will begin with:
Michigan Revised School Code Act, 451 M.C.L. §380.
- Rest of reference is the specific section or section range,
followed by (1976 &
and latest year indicated from the source History line.
- When referencing/citing laws/statutes/codes, nothing is italicized in either the reference or in-text citation. However, APA rules are different when citing court cases.
Office of Head Start, Early Childhood Learning & Knowledge Center. (2020, May 12). Engaging community partners
to strengthen family services. U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, Administration for Children and
Families. https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov/
How to cite this work in-text:
Parenthetical only time cited: (Office of Head Start, Early Childhood Learning & Knowledge Center, 2020)
Parenthetical first time cited: (Office of Head Start, Early Childhood Learning & Knowledge Center [ECLKC], 2020)
Parenthetical subsequent times cited: (ECLKC, 2020)
Narrative only time cited: Office of Head Start, Early Childhood Learning & Knowledge Center (2020)
Narrative first time cited: Office of Head Start, Early Childhood Learning & Knowledge Center (ECLKC, 2020)
Narrative subsequent times cited: ECLKC (2020)
Direct quote only time cited: (Office of Head Start, Early Childhood Learning & Knowledge Center, 2020, para. 1)
Direct quote first time cited: (Office of Head Start, Early Childhood Learning & Knowledge Center [ECLKC], 2020, para. 1)
Direct quote subsequent times: (ECLKC, 2020, para. 2)
Teaching in Michigan? Check out Mel.org Educators Website
Moving to another state? Seek out statewide library resources: Wisconsin or Other States
Access to the official ERIC database provided by the U.S. Institute of Education Sciences